1996 Jeep ZJ 4.0 will not crank - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 1996 Jeep ZJ 4.0 will not crank

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineOld Man Emu WK Lift - Black Friday Special!!The Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!

Unread 08-25-2013, 04:30 PM   #1
Hani96zj
1996 ZJ 

1996 Jeep ZJ 4.0 will not crank

Hello guys,

I am new to the jeep world and this forum. I just purchased a fairly clean 96 grand cherokee laredo 2wd. The jeep has ran ok, but was hesitating quite a bit. I went ahead and cleaned throttle body, replaced TPS and seems to be better. Now heres where the issues begin, the next morning i changed the oil and the spark plugs. Once I completed the work I tried to start it. Once I turned the key the jeep cranked a couple of times and would not start. When i tried to start the third time it would not even turn over. The battery checked ok so i went ahead and replaced the starter. I am still having the same issue, it will not crank at all, just a click from the solenoid. Any ideas?

Thank!
Hani

Hani96zj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-26-2013, 02:54 AM   #2
rep-tile
2004 WJ 

Sounds like the battery to me. Although try connecting the starter straight to the battery.
rep-tile is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-26-2013, 12:29 PM   #3
ngould1
1996 ZJ 

Make sure your firing order is correct. I only say this because you said you just changed spark plugs and this happened. Hope this helps.
ngould1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-26-2013, 12:35 PM   #4
OverlandZJ
1998 ZJ 

Firing order wouldn't prohibit the engine cranking over.