1995 Grand Cherokee - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 1995 Grand Cherokee

Savvy Billet LED Tail LightsLight up the holidays with LED lights from JeepHutIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 06-09-2006, 07:24 AM   #1
95PAGCLO

1995 Grand Cherokee

I just purchased a 1995 Jeep Cherokee Laredo that is full time 4wd. It will not stay in 4hi when I can get it in 4hi. 4lo works ok, but it just won't shift at to 4hi. Can some please help...Thanks in advanced.

95PAGCLO is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-09-2006, 08:15 AM   #2
lesgeaux

I am new to a Jeep GC also, just got a 96. I found that I have to have the transmission in nuetral to get the lever to shift to Hi or Lo.
lesgeaux is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-09-2006, 08:46 AM   #3
95PAGCLO

Tried that...

I have tried that with no luck. No matter if you do in neutral or not it doesn't help it stay in 4hi, when it goes in 4hi.
Unread 06-09-2006, 09:49 AM   #4
lesgeaux

There was a safety recall about the shifter (hi/lo) indent. I am not really sure what it means tho, but I checked and mine was done. Has your recall been done on that item?
lesgeaux is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-09-2006, 12:00 PM   #5
-Joe-
1995 ZJ 

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95PAGCLO
I just purchased a 1995 Jeep Cherokee Laredo that is full time 4wd. It will not stay in 4hi when I can get it in 4hi. 4lo works ok, but it just won't shift at to 4hi. Can some please help...Thanks in advanced.
What options do you have on your shift selector?

'95 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo I6 4.0L