1995 5.2 orvis on an island...... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 1995 5.2 orvis on an island......

Rough Country Deals at JeepHut.comEliminate Hood Flutter!!!Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 06-25-2013, 08:23 AM   #1
skogs
1995 ZJ 

1995 5.2 orvis on an island......

So I bought this zj for $700 when I moved to the virgin islands. Had it for 3 weeks, and it's a pita. Especially since I'm a career mechanic by trade, but couldn't bring certain tools here and I don't have a shop I can use yet. This is my fourth Jeep(tj 4.0, zj 4.0, tj 2.5), but never had a 5.2.

Anyway, when it gets hot it is dying, bogging, seems like it's a common issue. Got codes 13, 14, 24. So map sensor, and tps. Map sensor voltages read correctly from info I googled with vacuum applied. Tps didn't seem to have dead spots, but I have no scope to check the wave form. Quick resistance check in wires show they are ok, but island cars tend to have wiring issues. Also have coolant gauge inop, but there are two sensors so I'm guessing one is gauge and one is ecm(?). Idle air control cleaned, but does not move hardly at all. Has shifting problems which I'm sure(hope) is related to these sensor issues.

So with 223k miles, I feel like I should do all these sensors/valve. Shouldn't the idle valve be able to move full stroke by hand? Map sensors are common for sure, as well as tps. Read about intake manifold issues? But I've seen ecm problems too. Also read about grounds, but they were not where they said, by the oil filter right?

Input would be appreciated since being on an island parts being had is not the easiest.