ZZ4 350ci and SM465 swap adventure - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > ZZ4 350ci and SM465 swap adventure

Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!Even Better Heim Pricing! From RuffstuffToxic Brakes - 3000 PSI Braided Stainless Steel Brake Line

Unread 06-12-2013, 03:32 AM   #1
mudsweatNgearz
1987 YJ Wrangler 

ZZ4 350ci and SM465 swap adventure

Well here goes.
I am going to try to document my attempt at installing a turn key ZZ4 350 married to a SM 465 Muncie. My plan is to run my 231 with sye for now.

Please keep in mind this is my first jeep and I have never done anything like this before. So I will learn as I go and I will learn vast amounts of info from all my friends on this forum. I am by no means a Mechanic but I have been a Machinist for 25 years so I understand how things work and I certainly understand fits and tolerances and how critical they are to proper machine function. Only one thing I know for sure is that I WILL make plenty of mistakes....but I learn best that way!

A little history on the heep:
87 Loredo 258. 8.8 with 4.11 and Alloy USA axles, OX locked.

Front axle is d30 with full solid chromo axles also ox locked (I have not completed the front axle yet, all the upgrade parts are on a garage shelf currently)

The Motor

The tranny

Much much more to follow stay tuned!!

Unread 06-12-2013, 06:50 PM   #2
lar308

1990 YJ Wrangler 

Strong motor, great tranny. Attention to detail, again and again. You won't have a problem with the install. Ron
lar308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-12-2013, 06:57 PM   #3
mudsweatNgearz
1987 YJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by lar308 View Post