YJ jeep question on vacuum system - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > YJ jeep question on vacuum system

Artec Holiday Sale!Bead Lock Wheels! Raceline, Trail Ready, & Trail-GearROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail

Unread 09-19-2012, 09:59 PM   #1
proFISHent
1988 YJ Wrangler 

YJ jeep question on vacuum system

Like some of you guys have read, I am new to jeeps. Have an 88 YJ sahara. I was owed money so I was given the jeep as pay.

Needless to say the 4x4 dosnt work. Went to a local jeep place and asked what I need to fix it. They said its most likely vacuum system (which I have read SUCKS), the guy said I need to buy a pasenger side axle for I BELIEVE he said a TJ model jeep and I could delete the vacuum system.

I googled deleting the vacuum system and could find a ton of stuff on a posi loc system to engage the 4x4 instead of the vacuum system but I dont know if thats what I need.

Can anyone help? is this ALL I need or is it going to be one of those when I get that part I also need this and that too? Easy to install?

If I delete the vacuum system can I take all the old parts out so there's less junk down there?

proFISHent is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-19-2012, 10:14 PM   #2
seattle_yj
1993 YJ Wrangler 

A bunch of us were just talking about this on another thread. Check it out here: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/f...ocker-1418594/