YJ hub lockouts - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > YJ hub lockouts

FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectSavvy Aluminum Gas Tank SkidFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 04-29-2001, 05:25 PM   #1
AirborneJay
2002 TJ Wrangler 

YJ hub lockouts

Hey guys I'm new to the jeep world, (just bought an 87 YJ)and I was wondering if there is any way to get rid of that vacume hub lock out. Is there any way to make it manual, other than that high doller kit that warn sells??? thanks in advance for the help.. and keep wheelin.. later

Unread 04-29-2001, 08:11 PM   #2
Newfie

Not sure if it's what you're looking for, but there's a kit that converts the vacuum system to a cable system. Still uses the same principle but isn't dependent on the vacuum (and that %$#@! hose). It's called "4x4 Posi-Lok".

Thinking about getting one for myself since I lifted my '95 and the hose pops off sometimes when the front axle flexs. HTH
Unread 04-30-2001, 01:18 PM   #3
rayray

Another way to get rid of the vaccuum actuator is to replace your axle shaft with TJ shafts. You will need to replace the seals as well. Since your's is an 87, you must replace the stub ends too. Doing so will also upgrade you to 297x ujoints and hardend shafts. It's a great upgrade.

rayray
rayray is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-2001, 10:12 PM   #4
Tonka
1998 TJ Wrangler 

If you take rayray's advice, you may possibly have to get your front driveshaft rebalanced to stop high speed vibes. Other than that, it is a great upgrade.
Tonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-01-2001, 10:51 AM   #5
rayray

True, I forgot about that. Good catch Tonka.

rayray
rayray is offline   Reply With Quote