YJ Heat Control on "Vent" setting? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > YJ Heat Control on "Vent" setting?

Introducing MONSTALINERô UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~Advance Adapters SYE Kits

Unread 01-16-2012, 02:37 PM   #1
DaleG

YJ Heat Control on "Vent" setting?

Hey, hope I'm posting this right, and to the right place; newbie here.

I recently picked up a '95 TJ for my son, and we both love it. I've been fixing up a few things on it, and have a question about the heating controls.

It has no AC.

Everything works normally, but when flipping to "VENT," nothing blows.

I have some service manuals for the TJ, but nothing seems to cover the Heating lever.

I haven't had it apart yet, but I notice on a photo of the heat controls, there's a switch in behind that seems like it would be closed if the heater were put on "VENT."

(See here: http://www.eadoffroad.com/image/cach...71-500x500.jpg on upper right, this switch you can feel closing when you go to vent. What does it do?)

Are there separate fans, or something else electrical that has to take place to switch to the vent setting?

(I'm confused as to why it isn't just a vacuum thingy, and why a switch is involved...)

Any insight greatly appreciated. Defrost and Heat settings both work fine.

Thanks,

-dale

DaleG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-16-2012, 02:47 PM   #2
jmmorgan82

The vent setting is just that, a fresh air vent from the outside. There is no fan pushing or pulling the air into the cab.
jmmorgan82 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-16-2012, 03:30 PM   #3
DaleG

Ah, this explains much. Thanks.