YJ Dashboard Redesign - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > YJ Dashboard Redesign

Artec Holiday Sale!Bead Lock Wheels! Raceline, Trail Ready, & Trail-GearROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail

Unread 10-05-2011, 11:12 AM   #1
youngjeeper11

1987 YJ Wrangler 

YJ Dashboard Redesign

Fellas,

I am a mechanical engineer, and I do a lot of sheetmetal design. In my spare time I have been working on a few sheetmetal YJ dashboard designs to totally replace all the plastic, relocate the gauges to where you can see them, and relocate the radio/heater controls to where you can reach them.

I was just curious if anybody had any suggestions, ask yourself "If I could change 1 thing about my YJ interior, it would be....."

I would also like to add places for speakers that arent impossible to get to, and storage.

Any input is appreciated! Thanks

TJ

Ask me about my 4BT Cummins Motor Mounts!!
youngjeeper11 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-05-2011, 11:19 AM   #2
dillonjm
30mm @ 70/sec

2003 TJ Wrangler 

I'd change the radio placement. It sucks.

Also, maybe add a slot for a CB.

11 Ram 2500 - H&S tuned 6.7 Cummins (DD/Tow Rig)

05 Liberty Limited (Wife's): Minor mods, OME/JBA Suspension, 245 70/17 Duratracs
dillonjm is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-05-2011, 11:27 AM   #3
PotentialYJNewb
1987 YJ Wrangler 

I'd kill to have the original dash back in mine as the PO made it so simplistic it's scary.
PotentialYJNewb is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-05-2011, 11:58 AM   #4
youngjeeper11

1987 YJ Wrangler 

This is a rough idea so far, just working out basic dimensions and placement
untitled.jpg