YJ/CJ hardtop question? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > YJ/CJ hardtop question?

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsSavvy/Currie Aluminum Control Arms

Unread 06-21-2010, 08:47 PM   #1
abralexander
1995 YJ Wrangler 

YJ/CJ hardtop question?

I recently obtained an 89 YJ, and it has no top.
I found a post on craigslist, for full metal doors and a hardtop. Both are meant for CJ's. The owner of the post claims that CJ hardtops/metal doors will fit on a YJ, is this true?

I am extremely new to this, thanks for any help

abralexander is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-21-2010, 08:50 PM   #2
93jeepyj
1993 YJ Wrangler 

they aren't identical but they do bolt up and may take a bit of adjustment to get to work but if you can get a deal on em I'd take it.
93jeepyj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-21-2010, 08:51 PM   #3
abralexander
1995 YJ Wrangler 

Its a great deal, the guy has them listed for $300. I'm buying them, if the hardtop doesn't work out I'll sell it.
Unread 06-21-2010, 08:51 PM   #4
monkeyhouse
1997 ZJ 

Quote:
Originally Posted by abralexander View Post
I recently obtained an 89 YJ, and it has no top.
I found a post on craigslist, for full metal doors and a hardtop. Both are meant for CJ's. The owner of the post claims that CJ hardtops/metal doors will fit on a YJ, is this true?

I am extremely new to this, thanks for any help

I'll just say yes it should work. You will have to move the latches on your tub for the cj doors and you will probably have to un bolt the windshield to get the doors and top in correctly, but the dimensions are the same for a cj and yj. I have a hardtop from a 78 cj on my%2