yj 4x4 questions - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > yj 4x4 questions

Savvy/Currie Aluminum Control ArmsROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO December Specials at Jeephut.com

Unread 08-19-2011, 12:19 PM   #1
mattdinko
1992 YJ Wrangler 

yj 4x4 questions

im brand new to the world of 4x4s and just got myself a lifted yj. i though the front differential was locked in the stock dana 30 but i recently pulled the 4x4 vacuum lines and the indicator wire apart when i snagged a branch. i put them back together but since then only the driver side wheel spins in 4x4, does this mean there might be a problem with the vacuum system? the way i understood it was engaging 4x4 only really gave power to the driver side front and that the vacuum system engaged a 2 piece drive shaft to the passenger side? also the 4wd light is not coming on at all. any explanations or suggestions are greatly appreciated!

also how do you tell what the gearing is? the previous owner was as clueless as i am but it must be re geared since its running 35s and tops out at under 60mph lol

mattdinko is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-19-2011, 12:31 PM   #2
bogleparsons
2013 JK Wrangler 

the problem with the 4x4 light and your right front passenger tire not spinning are both connected to your vaccum switch that connects the front axles.

to know what gears you have (assuming they are stock) its on a tag under one of the bolts on the rear end.

If you suspect the gearing has been changed you can jack the Jeep and spin the tire while watching the drive shaft. That also will tell you what ratio you have.

I just read your profile you have an 8.8 rear end so as to what stock gearing is i don't know