wiring - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 Old 02-27-2013, 03:44 PM Thread Starter
linusb
Registered User
1994 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lexington,SC
Posts: 1,838
wiring

I've had my Jeep 3 years and the PO had a mess with the wiring under the dash. I haven't helped any as I've tapped into some random hot wire to power the switch for my on board air, as well another circuit for sound bar, CB, and winch switch.

I want to clean this all up but don't know where to start. What's the correct way to get a 12 volt feed that is switched on with the ignition? and how many accessories should i be running off of such a feed?

THere is a 5 prong connector under dash that wasn't hooked to anything. Two of those prongs have power with ignition so I have one powering the soundbar and one powering the winch switch. My CB is left powerless until I get this figured out.

Also, typical toggle switches you buy have 3 prongs. Is the purpose of the 3rd prong to serve as a jumper to another accessory switch?

I'd really like to put in a CJ dash at some point, but that's probably a ways down the road.

The previous owner has all kinds of crap tapped in to various wires which I don't know what they'd be for because there are no accessories at this point in time except what I've mentioned.

The previous owner did have an after market stereo which wasn't wired in at all and there was also an after market cruise control that I took out.

I don't have a stereo head unit, just the soundbar which has a microjack input that I plug into my iphone for tunes.

With the way the wiring looks, I'm amazed that everything works.


1994 YJ Wrangler, 4.0, AX15, NP231, 35x12.50x15 BFG KM2s, 4" RC lift, 1" lift Boom Shackles, 1" BL, 4.10 gears, 8.8 LSD in rear and D30 Aussie Locker in front, on-board air conversion, Ramsey RE8000 winch.
linusb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 Old 02-27-2013, 05:25 PM
Michaelgoesrawr
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pinion Hills
Posts: 8,536
Garage
For switched power, you can run a lot of switches off of one wire. Those switches would then turn on relays and power all of the electrical goods you have installed. For the cb, you should use the 12v switched wire directly to a relay which powers your radio.

Edit: My post is from memory. I do not have any saved info with me so I apologize if any is wrong.

Adopt your pets. Don't shop for them.
Michaelgoesrawr is offline  
post #3 of 40 Old 02-27-2013, 05:39 PM
bigbossd1030
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaelgoesrawr
For switched power, you can run a lot of switches off of one wire. Those switches would then turn on relays and power all of the electrical goods you have installed. For the cb, you should use the 12v switched wire directly to a relay which powers your radio.

Edit: My post is from memory. I do not have any saved info with me so I apologize if any is wrong.
I put in an aux fuse panel under the hood for this specific reason, adds 6 fuses.

Sent from my iPhone using JeepForum

/l ,[____],
l----L-[]lllllll[]-
()_)-()_)--o)_)

OFFICIAL JEEPER
Any Jeepers in Edmonton, AB
I am on channel 33.

I live, I ride, I am JEEP.
bigbossd1030 is offline  
post #4 of 40 Old 02-27-2013, 05:43 PM
Michaelgoesrawr
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pinion Hills
Posts: 8,536
Garage
Good point.

Adopt your pets. Don't shop for them.
Michaelgoesrawr is offline  
post #5 of 40 Old 02-27-2013, 06:05 PM Thread Starter
linusb
Registered User
1994 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lexington,SC
Posts: 1,838
So the source I have found that comes on with ignition, should I use that to source an auxiliary fuse box? From the fuse box I could power the following toggle switches:
1) on board air (stock a/c compressor)
2) winch (in/out/off)
3) secondary switch for #2 to prevent accidental winch activation

Then I need my soundbar and cb wired without toggle switches straight to fuse box.

I don't understand where the relays come in. Aren't these accessories low enough amperage to just flow power to the load directly through the toggle switch?

What about running a heavier gauged wire from battery to a master accessory switch to fuse box to the other switches and accessories listed above, requiring me to make sure I turn off that switch each time I leave vehicle lest I drain battery.

I have a very minimal understanding of electrical design so any education is helpful to me. How about the switches, is that third prong used optionally to power an adjacent switch?

1994 YJ Wrangler, 4.0, AX15, NP231, 35x12.50x15 BFG KM2s, 4" RC lift, 1" lift Boom Shackles, 1" BL, 4.10 gears, 8.8 LSD in rear and D30 Aussie Locker in front, on-board air conversion, Ramsey RE8000 winch.
linusb is offline  
post #6 of 40 Old 02-27-2013, 06:21 PM
Michaelgoesrawr
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pinion Hills
Posts: 8,536
Garage
The winch and winch power switch are low amps and don't need a relay. The OBA should have a relay and a pressure switch wired into as well. I think the compressor clutch may be to much amperage for a switch. Plus you can then run smaller wires to it through the firewall.

As far as the cb, I don't know what amperages they take. So you could run it on a switch without one of you wanted, probably. Edit: Just realized you said straight to fuse box with this and your sound bar. IMO you would need to run a heavier gauge wire from the battery for this.

As for the third connector I'd say it's a ground if it's the lighted one you told me about.

The best way to ensure you turn off all of your stuff at the same time would be to run a fusebox powered by a keyed ignition source. That way, when the Jeep is off, so is everything else. I'd power it through a relay, but that's just me. I guess I really like the idea of everything on relays.

Adopt your pets. Don't shop for them.
Michaelgoesrawr is offline  
post #7 of 40 Old 02-27-2013, 06:30 PM Thread Starter
linusb
Registered User
1994 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lexington,SC
Posts: 1,838
Thanks! The OBA does have the pressure switch in the circuit. Putting in a relay for that sounds like a good idea now that you mention it. I'm running 12 or 14 gauge wire to it currently. I'm not sure what amperage the switch is rated for.

1994 YJ Wrangler, 4.0, AX15, NP231, 35x12.50x15 BFG KM2s, 4" RC lift, 1" lift Boom Shackles, 1" BL, 4.10 gears, 8.8 LSD in rear and D30 Aussie Locker in front, on-board air conversion, Ramsey RE8000 winch.
linusb is offline  
post #8 of 40 Old 02-27-2013, 06:33 PM
Michaelgoesrawr
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pinion Hills
Posts: 8,536
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by linusb
Thanks! The OBA does have the pressure switch in the circuit. Putting in a relay for that sounds like a good idea now that you mention it. I'm running 12 or 14 gauge wire to it currently. I'm not sure what amperage the switch is rated for.
That is massive wire to a switch in the cab. Stick a relay in the system and you can run a much smaller wire 16-18ga(if I remember correctly). It's safer too because relays require a small amount of power to be activated so instead of a high amount of amps you get a tiny amount.

Adopt your pets. Don't shop for them.
Michaelgoesrawr is offline  
post #9 of 40 Old 02-27-2013, 06:36 PM
Michaelgoesrawr
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pinion Hills
Posts: 8,536
Garage
Also, I apologize if I don't make any sense. I'm on my phone and having a hard time getting my thoughts across.

Adopt your pets. Don't shop for them.
Michaelgoesrawr is offline  
post #10 of 40 Old 02-27-2013, 06:36 PM Thread Starter
linusb
Registered User
1994 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lexington,SC
Posts: 1,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaelgoesrawr
The best way to ensure you turn off all of your stuff at the same time would be to run a fusebox powered by a keyed ignition source.
.
This is what I want. I'm just unsure about the right way to get the keyed ignition source. Just find a random unused source like I've done?

1994 YJ Wrangler, 4.0, AX15, NP231, 35x12.50x15 BFG KM2s, 4" RC lift, 1" lift Boom Shackles, 1" BL, 4.10 gears, 8.8 LSD in rear and D30 Aussie Locker in front, on-board air conversion, Ramsey RE8000 winch.
linusb is offline  
post #11 of 40 Old 02-27-2013, 06:43 PM
Michaelgoesrawr
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pinion Hills
Posts: 8,536
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by linusb View Post
This is what I want. I'm just unsure about the right way to get the keyed ignition source. Just find a random unused source like I've done?
Found a computer at school!

A lot of people use the keyed radio source and that is my plan as well when it comes time for me to add all of my goods. (Don't worry, I have done a lot of reading on the subject!)

In your shoes, I would use the keyed radio wire to power a relay which would then power a fusebox that would allow you to run things of your choosing. It can be mounted in the cab or engine bay, your choice.

I dug up this article to maybe help explain relays and how to wire them.

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f20/w...ations-378268/

Edit: The cigar wire as pointed out below is good too.

Adopt your pets. Don't shop for them.
Michaelgoesrawr is offline  
post #12 of 40 Old 02-27-2013, 06:46 PM
bigbossd1030
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by linusb

This is what I want. I'm just unsure about the right way to get the keyed ignition source. Just find a random unused source like I've done?
No, what you want to do is go through your original fuse box, if you want ignition activation. I suggest going through your cigar lighter. This way, there is no draw on any other system component, plus it's already fused, and upping the fuse as per the device being powered is possible. My aux fuse panel is hooked directly to my battery as it is hooked up to my alarm, under body flood lights and my winch cam. So all of these I normally would like to run with the jeep off. Not so much the cam. I personally like 16g wire for most everything. Oh and I have my cb hooked up to my capacitor for my amp. It gets a bit staticky while capacitor is charging lol.

Sent from my iPhone using JeepForum

/l ,[____],
l----L-[]lllllll[]-
()_)-()_)--o)_)

OFFICIAL JEEPER
Any Jeepers in Edmonton, AB
I am on channel 33.

I live, I ride, I am JEEP.
bigbossd1030 is offline  
post #13 of 40 Old 02-27-2013, 06:46 PM Thread Starter
linusb
Registered User
1994 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lexington,SC
Posts: 1,838
Thank you so much-Very helpful!!

1994 YJ Wrangler, 4.0, AX15, NP231, 35x12.50x15 BFG KM2s, 4" RC lift, 1" lift Boom Shackles, 1" BL, 4.10 gears, 8.8 LSD in rear and D30 Aussie Locker in front, on-board air conversion, Ramsey RE8000 winch.
linusb is offline  
post #14 of 40 Old 02-28-2013, 12:40 AM
Michaelgoesrawr
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pinion Hills
Posts: 8,536
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by linusb
Thank you so much-Very helpful!!
Feel free to email or text me if you want. I may be of some assistance.

Adopt your pets. Don't shop for them.
Michaelgoesrawr is offline  
post #15 of 40 Old 02-28-2013, 11:30 AM
yjkid4life
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: hopewell jct
Posts: 3
so im rebuilding my dash on my 90 yj and i have a question i want to install all new guages and ive searched over the forums and alot of people are saying to use autometer guages. ok. now im great when it comes to wiring things but i just wanted to no the stock harness that plugs into the stock guage cluster can i just tape that off and tuck it out of the way or is there i diagram i can get to tap into those wires instead of running new wires to each sending unit/sensor. I have experienced electrical problems in the past on chrysler esp. that when u disconnect some harnesses and try and run vehical you will get a short to ground and motor wont start i was wondering if i would face a problem like this? i wouldnt mind just running nice new wire anyway to each sending unit/sensor... please help
yjkid4life is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome