Windshield wipers not working - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Windshield wipers not working

New For October! Flowmaster Black Ceramic Coated 304S ExhaNew For October! Flowmaster Black Ceramic Coated 304S ExhaPremium LED Lighting by VISION X, Proudly sold at ROCKRIDG

Unread 10-13-2010, 06:15 AM   #1
05F1FIDDY
1994 YJ Wrangler 

Windshield wipers not working

I have a 94 YJ and the windshield wipers stopped working. They came on for a sec then stopped. I'm new to Jeeps, I have no clue on how to fix it. I changed the fuse, but still not working. Thought it could be the switch, but the washer fluid still sprays. What could be the problem? Thanks for the help

05F1FIDDY is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-13-2010, 07:52 AM   #2
whyjay
1989 YJ Wrangler 

Mine did that once. Look under the dash near the stearing colum & there is a wire harnes that comes disconected just enough to lose contact. Thats what mine was. I hope this helps.
whyjay is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-13-2010, 09:33 AM   #3
57plymouth
1992 YJ Wrangler 

That, or if you have delay wipers the module could be broken. You can remove it and connect the two harnesses together until you can get a spare out of a junkyard.
Unread 10-13-2010, 05:30 PM   #4
94yjsahara
1994 YJ Wrangler 

I removed my module and connected the two harnesses together.

the good - the wipers worked.

the bad - my column started smoking after about 20 seconds where the switch is located.

anybody have any ideas?

hopefully, maybe the switch is just hooped - will a switch change fix the problem? or....

maybe the motor is old and becoming inefficient? drawing too many amps and melting my switch out?