Why? ground out wire? - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 12-06-2011, 05:33 AM Thread Starter
nickmonaco
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Campbell
Posts: 1,136
Why? ground out wire?

Something gives me the feeling my YJ isn't the only one doing this...
infact if you have pictures of things your YJ does, simply because its a YJ put em up and let's see what we all have in common lol

Attached Thumbnails
2011-12-06_05-22-40_35.jpg  

WHITE JEEP CLUB #171

My other Jeep's not a Chrysler.
nickmonaco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 12-06-2011, 07:11 AM
91jeeepsahara
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Ya tha happens in alot of jeep just go to the scrap yard and get another cluster or get a single gauge and install it I've had that happen to two of my jeep real easy fix
91jeeepsahara is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 12-06-2011, 09:44 AM
94chb
Registered User
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Whitwell
Posts: 1,936
its common if you take the gauge cluster out and look at the back of it you will see the ribbon all messed up. ive soldered mine several times. i got tired of smacking it lol.
94chb is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 12-06-2011, 10:00 AM
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 22,863
Check the wire to the temp sensor by grounding it. It should go to 0. The temp guage sensor is the one on the rear of the block with a single wire going to it. If you ground it and the guage doesn't move then the guage is bad. If it does go to 0 then the sensor is bad:

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/2-5l-sensor-553520/
Que89YJ is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 12-06-2011, 10:44 AM Thread Starter
nickmonaco
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Campbell
Posts: 1,136
THANK YOU sounds like a plan. I just bought a test light and meter and a whole bunch of **** too

WHITE JEEP CLUB #171

My other Jeep's not a Chrysler.
nickmonaco is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 12-06-2011, 11:00 AM
MegaCabMan
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Edmond
Posts: 264
FYI>>>
be sure to pull your ground cable before you pull that cluster. I grounded out the clock connection (always hot) and fried the ribbon cable.

My bet is that the wire to the sending unit is grounded on the block, or the sending unit is bad.
MegaCabMan is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 12-06-2011, 11:15 AM
YJames90
Registered User
 
YJames90's Avatar
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Posts: 6,980
Mine did that last week but it was from overheating

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poke View Post
Spring Over is not for you.... yet





My 2.5 to 4.3 swap thread

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
YJames90 is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 12-06-2011, 02:06 PM
hdfxrs91
Registered User
1987 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 690
Mine does that, too. I just tap on it, or hit a bump, and it goes back to where it's supposed to be, then just falls again later.
hdfxrs91 is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 12-06-2011, 02:23 PM
pasinbuy
Registered User
1994 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 3,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by MegaCabMan View Post
FYI>>>
be sure to pull your ground cable before you pull that cluster. I grounded out the clock connection (always hot) and fried the ribbon cable.

My bet is that the wire to the sending unit is grounded on the block, or the sending unit is bad.

You mean the positive, red cable on the battery? Not the ground, right?
pasinbuy is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 12-06-2011, 03:35 PM
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 22,863
Doesn't matter. I usually disconnect the ground at the battery.
Que89YJ is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 12-06-2011, 06:41 PM Thread Starter
nickmonaco
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Campbell
Posts: 1,136
Its not always in one place it dances around a clicks left and right like crazy sometimes too

WHITE JEEP CLUB #171

My other Jeep's not a Chrysler.
nickmonaco is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 12-08-2011, 09:34 AM
MegaCabMan
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Edmond
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Que89YJ
Doesn't matter. I usually disconnect the ground at the battery.
Disconnect the ground first.

They call me the King of Fun! Everwhere I go I hear "Here comes that Fun King MegaCabMan"
MegaCabMan is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 12-08-2011, 10:48 AM
oldtime_ironman
Web Wheeler
1991 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 14304 Niagara Falls
Posts: 2,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickmonaco View Post
Its not always in one place it dances around a clicks left and right like crazy sometimes too
You might want to clean the contacts on the circuit board behind the gauges. It has worked very well for me in the past. The big clue is that you are tapping the gauges and they change - that is a sign if dirty or broken connection. Here's a write-up how to do it, its pretty easy.

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/r...ter-how-991307

Give that a shot and post back. Just FYI Morris4x4 has the whole circuit board replacement for something like $75. In my case I simply hard-wired the gauges in with solder.
.
oldtime_ironman is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 12-14-2011, 10:06 AM Thread Starter
nickmonaco
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Campbell
Posts: 1,136
Thank you

WHITE JEEP CLUB #171

My other Jeep's not a Chrysler.
nickmonaco is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 04-08-2012, 09:09 AM
crunk7
Registered User
1987 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: lenoir
Posts: 23
frustrated!!

I have done all the things listed here. i evenemp pulled the gauge pod from friend's yj and the temp gauge is still pegged. sometimes it is not pegged when i start, then it pegs.
crunk7 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Ground wire help... MHip TJ Wrangler Technical Forum 10 03-06-2011 09:16 PM
ECU ground wire???? Billsbluejeep YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 3 11-18-2010 04:41 PM
ground wire? nsahan YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 19 05-26-2010 06:09 PM
New ground wire Brandon_YJ YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 2 01-19-2009 01:10 PM
Ground Wire Kit? HuD YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 2 08-23-2006 05:49 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome