Why? ground out wire? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Why? ground out wire?

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineDan's Old as Dirt Birthday Sale!GEARSHADE Pocket Tops in stock and available at ROCKRIDGE

Reply
Unread 12-06-2011, 04:33 AM   #1
nickmonaco
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Campbell, Kentucky
Posts: 1,143
Why? ground out wire?

Something gives me the feeling my YJ isn't the only one doing this...
infact if you have pictures of things your YJ does, simply because its a YJ put em up and let's see what we all have in common lol

2011-12-06_05-22-40_35.jpg  
__________________
[B][/B][I][COLOR="White"][/COLOR][/I]WHITE JEEP CLUB #171

My other Jeep's not a Chrysler.
nickmonaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2011, 06:11 AM   #2
91jeeepsahara
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Ya tha happens in alot of jeep just go to the scrap yard and get another cluster or get a single gauge and install it I've had that happen to two of my jeep real easy fix
91jeeepsahara is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2011, 08:44 AM   #3
94chb
Registered User
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Whitwell, TN
Posts: 1,956
its common if you take the gauge cluster out and look at the back of it you will see the ribbon all messed up. ive soldered mine several times. i got tired of smacking it lol.
94chb is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2011, 09:00 AM   #4
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 14,603
Check the wire to the temp sensor by grounding it. It should go to 0. The temp guage sensor is the one on the rear of the block with a single wire going to it. If you ground it and the guage doesn't move then the guage is bad. If it does go to 0 then the sensor is bad:

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/2-5l-sensor-553520/
Que89YJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2011, 09:44 AM   #5
nickmonaco
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Campbell, Kentucky
Posts: 1,143
THANK YOU sounds like a plan. I just bought a test light and meter and a whole bunch of **** too
__________________
[B][/B][I][COLOR="White"][/COLOR][/I]WHITE JEEP CLUB #171

My other Jeep's not a Chrysler.
nickmonaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2011, 10:00 AM   #6
MegaCabMan
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 264
FYI>>>
be sure to pull your ground cable before you pull that cluster. I grounded out the clock connection (always hot) and fried the ribbon cable.

My bet is that the wire to the sending unit is grounded on the block, or the sending unit is bad.
MegaCabMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2011, 10:15 AM   #7
YJames90
Registered User
1990 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Posts: 6,926
Mine did that last week but it was from overheating
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poke View Post
Spring Over is not for you.... yet





My 2.5 to 4.3 swap thread
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/4...begun-1237704/
YJames90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2011, 01:06 PM   #8
hdfxrs91
Registered User
1987 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 685
Mine does that, too. I just tap on it, or hit a bump, and it goes back to where it's supposed to be, then just falls again later.
hdfxrs91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2011, 01:23 PM   #9
pasinbuy
Registered User
1994 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 3,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by MegaCabMan View Post
FYI>>>
be sure to pull your ground cable before you pull that cluster. I grounded out the clock connection (always hot) and fried the ribbon cable.

My bet is that the wire to the sending unit is grounded on the block, or the sending unit is bad.

You mean the positive, red cable on the battery? Not the ground, right?
pasinbuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2011, 02:35 PM   #10
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 14,603
Doesn't matter. I usually disconnect the ground at the battery.
Que89YJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-06-2011, 05:41 PM   #11
nickmonaco
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Campbell, Kentucky
Posts: 1,143
Its not always in one place it dances around a clicks left and right like crazy sometimes too
__________________
[B][/B][I][COLOR="White"][/COLOR][/I]WHITE JEEP CLUB #171

My other Jeep's not a Chrysler.
nickmonaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2011, 08:34 AM   #12
MegaCabMan
Registered User
1988 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Que89YJ
Doesn't matter. I usually disconnect the ground at the battery.
Disconnect the ground first.
__________________
They call me the King of Fun! Everwhere I go I hear "Here comes that Fun King MegaCabMan"
MegaCabMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2011, 09:48 AM   #13
oldtime_ironman
Web Wheeler
1991 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 14304 Niagara Falls, NY
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickmonaco View Post
Its not always in one place it dances around a clicks left and right like crazy sometimes too
You might want to clean the contacts on the circuit board behind the gauges. It has worked very well for me in the past. The big clue is that you are tapping the gauges and they change - that is a sign if dirty or broken connection. Here's a write-up how to do it, its pretty easy.

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/r...ter-how-991307

Give that a shot and post back. Just FYI Morris4x4 has the whole circuit board replacement for something like $75. In my case I simply hard-wired the gauges in with solder.
.
oldtime_ironman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-14-2011, 09:06 AM   #14
nickmonaco
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Campbell, Kentucky
Posts: 1,143
Thank you
__________________
[B][/B][I][COLOR="White"][/COLOR][/I]WHITE JEEP CLUB #171

My other Jeep's not a Chrysler.
nickmonaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-08-2012, 08:09 AM   #15
crunk7
Registered User
1987 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: lenoir, nc
Posts: 23
frustrated!!

I have done all the things listed here. i evenemp pulled the gauge pod from friend's yj and the temp gauge is still pegged. sometimes it is not pegged when i start, then it pegs.
crunk7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.