Where is the best place to start my upgrades on my 88 yj? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Where is the best place to start my upgrades on my 88 yj?

Savvy Billet LED Tail LightsLight up the holidays with LED lights from JeepHutIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 03-03-2013, 04:28 PM   #1
JeepingShtHpns
1988 YJ Wrangler 

Where is the best place to start my upgrades on my 88 yj?

So I want to start souping up my jeep but im new at the whole jeep thing its my first car and im good at working on it i just don't know where to start. I really want a 4 inch suspension lift and a 2 inch body lift, tire and wheel size still unknown, and i want it to be reliable off roading i would like to get to places were other wanna be rigs cant but it also is my street car to.

I have a stock 88 yj that runs good but has wires all over the place under the hood the radio has no power the speakers are shot

WHERE IS THE BEST PLACE TO START AND WHAT SHOULD I DO TO IT?

JeepingShtHpns is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-03-2013, 08:13 PM   #2
idskot
1991 YJ Wrangler 

There is no definitively 'good' or 'best' way to start a build, especially on a budget. (Since this is your first car, I'm assuming you're young, and thus lacking funds).

I'd fix up the wires, and do everything else you can that's free. I'd also do a complete tune-up and go over everything possible. I'd change the front and rear differential fluid, transfer case fluid, and if you have a manual transmission, I'd change that fluid, too.