What locker do I want - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > What locker do I want

The Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!Safety Thimble FairleadsEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 11-11-2001, 12:18 PM   #1
jeepnmud

What locker do I want

I want locker for the front of my 95YJ, but I'm not sure if I should get the soft-locker or the air-locker. I have 2 problems...... 1. I am new to this location, so I don't have a mechanic that I trust yet. 2. I am a woman so I am getting a bunch of crap. So I thought I would ask the perfessionals. What are the ups and downs of both. I'm thinking of an air locker.
Jen

jeepnmud is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-11-2001, 12:43 PM   #2
evilpsych

well if you got the $$$$$$ go with the ARB.. have you upgraded the ring and pinions in your diffs? it's especially important if you have larger than normal tires.. will save you a bit on gas and your acceleration will be a bit better too.. (wont stall the engine) if you havent done your tires yet.. i'd hold off on installing the locker, unless you have no desire to go to larger tires.. the ARB costs bout $650 per axle i believe, not including labor.. anyway.. if you get the gearing upgraded at the same time as the locker install, it'll get it done while the diff is open and dismantled which will save you money if you decide to do it later. I recommend at least 4.10 gears if you're goin bigger than 31" tires.. there are a lot of sites that have a nice graph that show you what RPM range you'll be in for a given tire size and gearing..