What the &*%$# am I doing....... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > What the &*%$# am I doing.......

JK Front Lower Adjustable Control Arms!QTP Low Profile Cutouts Now @ MarylandSpeed- Free ShippingOPTIC ARMOR WINDOWS all sale now !!!!!!!!

Unread 09-24-2013, 03:59 PM   #1
1YJ_1life
1995 YJ Wrangler 

What the &*%$# am I doing.......

I am brand new to doing car modifications, changing fluids, brakes, valves, radiators, and turbos are nothing new but as far as transmissions, lifts, engine swaps, and electrical.. I am a lost dog.

Where do I start!? I just picked up a 1995 YJ with the 2.5L engine. 122xxx miles and 5 speed tranny. Where do I figure out which transmission I have? can I change the tranny to a T5? can swap a 350 or a 305 block into my baby?

I know for sure that atleast a lift is in the near future, and I definitely want to make my jeep a trail rig but I just am not sure how to start this process off right.

If someone doesnt mind giving me advice and help, it would be appreciated

(Pictures coming soon)

1YJ_1life is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-24-2013, 04:01 PM   #2
sjones26573
GO GOATS!

2004 TJ Wrangler 

You have an AX-15. It's a good tranny. Of course you can do a V8 swap. Loads of them on here with write ups.
sjones26573 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-24-2013, 04:04 PM   #3
JeepinJeremy
1992 YJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjones26573 View Post
You have an AX-15. It's a good tranny. Of course you can do a V8 swap. Loads of them on here with write ups.
Wrong!!!

He has an AX5 he has a 4cyl YJ as posted.
JeepinJeremy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-24-2013, 04:05 PM   #4
JeepinJeremy
1992 YJ Wrangler