Weber vacuum advance question - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-13-2013, 09:54 PM Thread Starter
packdog
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kelso
Posts: 65
Weber vacuum advance question

I'm trying to straighten out a majorly molested 88YJ. My current issue started when I was trying to get it timed properly. I'm not getting any vacuum advance on the distributor. I verified that the advance does move when vacuum is applied but it doesn't move when attached to the carb port.

It has a Weber 32/36 installed by the PO. My gauge reads 0 vacuum on the advance port on the carb (I figured out which port is the proper one by reading posts here). It stays at 0 at all rpms. Before I pull the carb off and check for blockage I wanted to ask what it should be reading.

Also I think I read somewhere on this forum that if the throttle plate is not adjusted properly and the "S" port is not covered by the throttle plates it can affect the vacuum ports (both the ported and the "EGR" port. Can anyone confirm this? I haven't been able to find it with any of my searches.

packdog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-13-2013, 10:24 PM
superj
Registered User
1987 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: corpus christi
Posts: 7,057
Yes, if set wrong, the ports will be uncovered if the idle set screw is too far out. The 32/36 is a great carb

I don't feel like working on anything, at this time.
superj is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-14-2013, 01:53 PM Thread Starter
packdog
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kelso
Posts: 65
Thank you

Thanks for your reply.

So the way I understand it, I need to pull the carb off and adjust the idle speed screw until it covers the S port, then install the carb, start the Jeep and set the idle speed using the mixture screw.

I ran across Fernando's "can't set best lean idle" thread this morning and it sounds like I don't need to adhere to the Redline setup guide settings as long as I keep that S port covered (don't touch the idle speed once I put the carb back on). I learned a lot from that thread - thanks Fernando!

Since I haven't pulled the carb yet to look, is it only the secondary that has the S port?
packdog is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-14-2013, 02:34 PM
superj
Registered User
1987 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: corpus christi
Posts: 7,057
I don't remember, its been a long time since I ran a 32/36 but I set mine with idle set screw only 1.5 turns or something from bottom, I think. Set it with a vacuum gauge and it should be perfect though

I don't feel like working on anything, at this time.
superj is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome