Washer Fluid Motors/Wiring - JeepForum.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 05-13-2013, 06:20 PM Thread Starter
Carralo1
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Lowell
Posts: 72
Washer Fluid Motors/Wiring

Hey guys, I spent tonight trying to figure out why my washer fluid wont spray. I took off the two motors on the bottom of the reservoir and I bench tested them with 12 volts and they both spun. I took the multimeter to the jeep and tested the connections and got 12 volts while twisting the washer fluid switch forwards on only one of the two connections(the one on top in the picture blue insulation). The other set of wires were not getting any voltage.

I connected the motors back up and nothing. I tried just connecting the wires that were getting power but still the motor wont spin. Any ideas?

Carralo1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 05-13-2013, 06:53 PM
idaholtby
Registered User
1991 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Meridian
Posts: 2,563
Two motors???? Does your rig have a hard top with rear wiper?
idaholtby is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 05-13-2013, 07:03 PM Thread Starter
Carralo1
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Lowell
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by idaholtby View Post
Two motors???? Does your rig have a hard top with rear wiper?
Yes it sure does!
Carralo1 is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 05-13-2013, 08:04 PM
bhamdan
Member
 
bhamdan's Avatar
1992 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: bessemer
Posts: 276
Garage
Just swap the tubes so the good motor works the windshield

I just picked up a washer bottle from ebay because the PO had removed mine for some reason... motors seem to be cheap tho.
bhamdan is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 05-13-2013, 08:08 PM
johnboy68
HIP2BSQR
 
johnboy68's Avatar
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fayette County WV
Posts: 1,050
More than likely the switch is bad on the steering column.

Same thing happened to mine. I just power mine now off the battery through a pressure release switch I installed on the dash.
johnboy68 is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 05-13-2013, 08:12 PM Thread Starter
Carralo1
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Lowell
Posts: 72
Yeah The switch seems to be the common Culprit. if im getting 12 volts to the connector yet when i plug in the motor it still doesnt spin, (not getting enough amps to power it!??)
What's the easiest way to get to the switch?
Carralo1 is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 05-13-2013, 08:26 PM
johnboy68
HIP2BSQR
 
johnboy68's Avatar
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fayette County WV
Posts: 1,050
You have to partially tear the steering column down to get to it.


That's why I just got a cheap switch and wired it up. It only cost me about $5 and 20 minutes.

I'll fix it right one of these days.
johnboy68 is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 05-13-2013, 08:39 PM
Anticanman
RIP one good jeeper
 
Anticanman's Avatar
1994 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ripon
Posts: 20,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnboy68 View Post
You have to partially tear the steering column down to get to it.


That's why I just got a cheap switch and wired it up. It only cost me about $5 and 20 minutes.

I'll fix it right one of these days.
This is what I'm going to do for my hardtop sprayer. Anyone know where to get oem style switches for the hardtop in case I change my mind?

Luck Favours The Prepared
Anticanman is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 05-14-2013, 08:44 AM
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 20,815
Wait, you are getting power to the connector for the motor? Are you reading across the connector or do you have the other meter lead on ground?
Que89YJ is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 05-14-2013, 11:35 AM
jsawduste
Web Wheeler
2006 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Que89YJ View Post
Wait, you are getting power to the connector for the motor? Are you reading across the connector or do you have the other meter lead on ground?
Because the washer pump grounds at the stupid OEM sheetmetal screw at the headlight.
jsawduste is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 05-14-2013, 04:10 PM Thread Starter
Carralo1
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Lowell
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Que89YJ View Post
Wait, you are getting power to the connector for the motor? Are you reading across the connector or do you have the other meter lead on ground?
I was reading across the connector....
Carralo1 is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 05-14-2013, 04:16 PM Thread Starter
Carralo1
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Lowell
Posts: 72
I'm getting the same issue with my horn. I read 12 volts across the connector going into horn, horn bench tested good. I removed center steering wheel cap, cleaned the depress plate and all contacts. I can hear relay click when I press horn. I removed that center cover again today and I see what looks like I'm getting a short when I press the horn(faint spark).

Should I be checking voltage a different way?
Trying to sort out my common electrical issues
Carralo1 is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 05-14-2013, 04:18 PM Thread Starter
Carralo1
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Lowell
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsawduste View Post
Because the washer pump grounds at the stupid OEM sheetmetal screw at the headlight.
Could this be my issue or you guys think its the switch?
The washers move 3 times but the fluid motors never spin.
Carralo1 is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 05-14-2013, 06:14 PM
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 20,815
how did you measure the voltage, with the ground on the connector or on the chassis? the ground can be an issue on any electrical. if you measured it to the chassis then measure it across the connector.
Que89YJ is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 05-15-2013, 07:14 AM Thread Starter
Carralo1
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Lowell
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Que89YJ View Post
how did you measure the voltage, with the ground on the connector or on the chassis? the ground can be an issue on any electrical. if you measured it to the chassis then measure it across the connector.
I measured both ways and got the same readings...?
Carralo1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome