VSS Supply Voltage after 5.3 Swap - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-17-2013, 12:23 AM Thread Starter
scott66s
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
VSS Supply Voltage after 5.3 Swap

I am in the process of wrapping up my 5.3 swap and I am trying to get the speedo working. According to the wiring diagram I have, the jeep ECM would have supplied 8 volts to the VSS. Since I don't have a jeep ECM anymore the VSS doesn't have power right now. Does anyone know if I can supply the VSS with 12V? Or does it have to be 8V? I tried searching and couldn't find anything. Any help or opinions would be appreciated.

scott66s is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-17-2013, 06:20 AM
SeanB95YJ
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Schenectady
Posts: 1,182
with the 5.3, you should have the ECM for the 5.3, right? use the 5.3s ECM to connect to the VSS the way it would have in the original vehicle

at least that's the way I understand it... I'm using an older engine with a little simpler electronics, so there might be more involved than I'm aware of.

Sean B. - Schenectady, NY - 95 YJ, 350/700r4/NP241, JB Shorty SYE, 8.8 rear, 2" BDS, 1" homebrew shackles, Daystar 1" BL, TJ flares, 35x12.50 General Grabber AT2 on 15x10 Bart D-Truckers, Polyshield polycarbonate windshield, HD over/under crossover steering
swap/build thread:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SeanB95YJ is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-17-2013, 07:24 AM
beemerkid
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Kodiak
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott66s View Post
I am in the process of wrapping up my 5.3 swap and I am trying to get the speedo working. According to the wiring diagram I have, the jeep ECM would have supplied 8 volts to the VSS. Since I don't have a jeep ECM anymore the VSS doesn't have power right now. Does anyone know if I can supply the VSS with 12V? Or does it have to be 8V? I tried searching and couldn't find anything. Any help or opinions would be appreciated.
If the jeep ecm provided 8V, you will need 8v. You can wire a resistor into the circuit to drop the voltage. I dont remember the formula for how many ohms it would need to be to drop it to 8V. If you run it with 12V your going to burn something up.

SeanB95YJ, He's talking about the jeep vss to feed the speedometer, not the GM vss feeding the GM PCM. The GM PCM is now a separate system from the jeep vss.
beemerkid is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-17-2013, 08:43 AM Thread Starter
scott66s
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by beemerkid

If the jeep ecm provided 8V, you will need 8v. You can wire a resistor into the circuit to drop the voltage. I dont remember the formula for how many ohms it would need to be to drop it to 8V. If you run it with 12V your going to burn something up.

SeanB95YJ, He's talking about the jeep vss to feed the speedometer, not the GM vss feeding the GM PCM. The GM PCM is now a separate system from the jeep vss.
That's what I figured. I was just hoping someone had some experience trying it 12V with it before I had to do, you know, math and stuff.

Sent from my iPad using JeepForum
scott66s is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-17-2013, 08:58 AM
rinking
Registered User
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: michigan
Posts: 427
Need more info. What tranny are you useing? I have a Vortec 5.7/ 4l60e in mine. Get ahold of DakotaDigital.com and purchase there sgi-5c sdeedo converter. I used this in Mine and it works perfect. It changes the signal from the gm vss to work with the Jeep speedo. The sweet part is, any time You change tire size or gear ratio, You can go back and adjust it for the right speed. I used My handheld GPS to get it spot on. It's on the money from 0- 80, thats as fast as I've ever drove it, Scary!
rinking is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-17-2013, 09:10 AM
rinking
Registered User
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: michigan
Posts: 427
Sorry, just reread everything thats been said. It's coming back to Me now! I remember going over the 8v thing. I couldnt come up with the 8v so thats why I ended up useing the gm vss and Dakota Digital box. I just looked at your profile, If Your using a 4l60e, You must have the vss hooked up. The Dakota box is what You need. Forget about the vss comeing from the 231 and get Your signal from the 4l60e vss.
rinking is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome