Vacum lines - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Vacum lines

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineGrizzly Lockers available at Rockridge4wd.comThe ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! Brough

Unread 01-16-2002, 09:46 PM   #1
YJ boy

Vacum lines

I am new to this and have a 90 YJ.

I can not figure out were the blue vacum hose goes to from the transfer. also the vacum shift motor is not working "I think?" there is no vacum from the lines at all!!

YJ boy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-17-2002, 02:14 PM   #2
bobznew

This is just a thought, but you might consider getting a Posi-lok. It is a cable-actuated engagement system that replaces the vacuum-actuated system on the front axle.

However, it is $200. Your call, but I have one, and have had no problems since I got it.
Unread 01-17-2002, 04:05 PM   #3
AJ

The vacuum shift motor wears out farily quickly. So if you replace it, plan on doing it again and again. The posi-lock is a nice piece,but it is extremely expensive for what you actually get. The quickest, easiest, and least expensive option is to semi-permanantly lock the inner and outer passenger axles. It takes about 20minutes and costs about a nickel. You'll end up with basically, a standard axle set-up with a solid alxe on each side of the diff. The new tj's did away with the 2 piece axles, probably due to their problems. Another bonus is that the front diff will engage instantly instead of waiting for the vacuum motor to shift the collar.
AJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-17-2002, 08:13 PM   #4
YJ boy

First thank you for all your support.