Used 88 need 4wd help - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Used 88 need 4wd help

Labor day sale @ rockridge 4wd! 8/29-9/1 site wide..promo FS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! RIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all

Unread 02-03-2002, 01:37 PM   #1
Resqfiremedic
2000 YJ Wrangler 

Used 88 need 4wd help

I am new to jeeps and just bought a used 4wd and nooooo i didnt check the 4wd to be sure it was operating. I KNOW! No 4WD light lites up nor 4WD. A new weber carb was installed and vacuum lines missing. I have a blue one broken on harness and have NO IDEA where it went. I also noticed with boot off shifters two lines coming out of trans. One has metal line leading to engine, the other is just a fitting with no line?? Can anyone get me on the right track???

Unread 02-03-2002, 11:17 PM   #2
SFM1AE2

search some of the previous posts. Someone posted a link to a vacum diagram that was was good. Try: http://matt88yj.tripod.ca/4x4_vacuum_diagram
Unread 02-04-2002, 06:37 AM   #3
Resqfiremedic
2000 YJ Wrangler 

Ok, i think i got the vacuum lines diagram. THanks! Does anyone know anything about the two lines coming out of the transmission? One is not connected??? :confused
Unread 02-04-2002, 05:00 PM   #4
JeepTodd

There should be four lines that come out of the transmission. I found the easiest thing to do was to get a new vacumm harness from the dealer and then just plug the ends into the transmission, front alxle and one hose into the vacumm line coming from the engine. Works great now. Cost about $50.00 for the new harness. Good luck and e-mail if you need help or pictures. I just went through the same thing on my 87 YJ.
Unread 02-05-2002, 04:55 PM   #5
Resqfiremedic