UGH more tranny problems! No reverse plus MORE - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > UGH more tranny problems! No reverse plus MORE

Dana 30 Truss for your TJ, LJ, ZJ, and XJFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 08-08-2011, 05:09 PM   #1
nathanninja
1991 YJ Wrangler 

UGH more tranny problems! No reverse plus MORE

So picture this, I've been working on my Jeep for going on 5 months now. I FINALLY have the whole fricken thing back together, looks GORGEOUS. My overly safety conscious dad is coming home in an hour to inspect it and then I planned to go joyriding for the first time. Well I've driven it a tiny bit (around the yard to move it) and it ran fine. I go to drive it into the driveway so I can get an extension cord close enough to use my drill, and as I start to move in reverse, I hear this metal popping noise. Doesn't sound good, I'm like CRAP and jam on the clutch. I get out and examine everything, looks fine. Get back in, move a few feet, same deal. This time I didn't get my foot down as fast though, and it went another foot. It would pop right as I start to move then you wouldn't hear it anymore. So then I put it into first thinking oh hey maybe it's something screwy with reverse. Same deal. Well I got it going once where I didn't hear the pop, so I went ahead and drove it into the driveway. Well I stopped, then realized I needed to move more. I put it in first, and started to release the clutch. The engine just bogs down and acts like I'm trying to start it in 4th or something. I put it in neutral and try again, still same thing. I tried second and even third, same deal. Then I put it in reverse, let out the clutch, nothing. OH