Transmission Fluid Question - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Transmission Fluid Question

Gear Installs at CCOR SpecialWe have Engo 10k Synthetic IN STOCK!!! Hurry while supplieIron Cross Customer JK and TJ Wrangler Bumpers now at ROCK

Unread 01-11-2013, 02:48 PM   #1
Gozz
1989 YJ Wrangler 

Transmission Fluid Question

Hey guys complete newbie here so excuse me in advanced for the terrible questions.

My 89 4.2 has recently sprung a leak because of a bad seal (I think). The leak is coming from the back of the transfer case where the second drive shaft starts (sorry I'm not good with car language yet, does this make sense?).

I've come to the conclusion that it's probably transmission fluid since it's red. Now don't get mad at me because I know this has been asked before, but the problem is I don't know where to fill the transmission fluid.
I've already tried looking at other threads and searching, but I've only gotten more confused with the drain and fill plugs in the transfer case and the transmission itself. Also there's so many different numbers being thrown up for what is best for the Jeep regarding the oil. It doesn't help that I have an 89 which could have a BA-10 or an AX-15 and those could have their own fluids, etc.

So basically what I need is just a straight up answer because I'm super confused and I don't want to mess up and blow up m transmission or something.

Thanks

Gozz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-11-2013, 03:13 PM   #2
Mark05059
1989 YJ Wrangler