tps question - Page 3 - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #31 of 77 Old 08-21-2013, 12:52 PM Thread Starter
hotcobra03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: poteet
Posts: 84





hotcobra03 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 77 Old 08-21-2013, 12:56 PM
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 22,863
Can't see pics at work. Whats the pic of?
Que89YJ is offline  
post #33 of 77 Old 08-21-2013, 01:27 PM Thread Starter
hotcobra03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: poteet
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Que89YJ View Post
Can't see pics at work. Whats the pic of?
timing chain,,if im seeing it right its 180 out..

engine is at tdc 0 .on compression stroke.rotor at number 1'


pic shows dot at top of gear on cam,bottom is key way at 12 oclock
hotcobra03 is offline  
post #34 of 77 Old 08-21-2013, 01:29 PM Thread Starter
hotcobra03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: poteet
Posts: 84
its inline with bottom,,

if so how should I change it,,my cobra is an interference engine
hotcobra03 is offline  
post #35 of 77 Old 08-21-2013, 02:28 PM
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 22,863
In the forum that has come up. Do a search.

Fault codes:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mean Max pics of everything:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

How to use Google to search the forum:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

No Start:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Que89YJ is offline  
post #36 of 77 Old 08-21-2013, 05:46 PM Thread Starter
hotcobra03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: poteet
Posts: 84
I did google,,its back together,started at crack of key, idle 750''

going now for test drive to fuel station,
hotcobra03 is offline  
post #37 of 77 Old 08-21-2013, 05:49 PM Thread Starter
hotcobra03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: poteet
Posts: 84
I undid chain,,with dizzy out,turned cam,lined up dots.turned over couple times by hand,,set dot on cam to 3 oclock area.counted pins to crank..got 20'

re installed dizzy on 0 of compression stroke..
hotcobra03 is offline  
post #38 of 77 Old 08-21-2013, 06:52 PM Thread Starter
hotcobra03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: poteet
Posts: 84
back from spin,,it drove nice but still dead..this time lrsd spit spudder,,

pulled over un plugged ait sensor,,took more power away rigjt from idle..

re hooked,un plugged coolant sensor,,wow hit 70 mph

guess Im getting closer, let me locate sensor
hotcobra03 is offline  
post #39 of 77 Old 08-22-2013, 07:25 AM
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 22,863
Use a meter and start checking. I hate throwing parts at it. Temp sensor seems like a good call though! You need to go through the adjustments. It isn't the same critter as the OBD 1 Jeep. You need to baseline the sensors so the ecu has a good refrence for each. The temp sensor has a resistance chart in the manual to check it's function. Glad to hear its running.
Que89YJ is offline  
post #40 of 77 Old 08-22-2013, 10:09 AM Thread Starter
hotcobra03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: poteet
Posts: 84
I ordered new sensor,20 bucks

I did ohm sensor..i have no manual on how to read meter

it shows 3 ranges and is automatic..

range scale is 4'40'400


im getting 2.8 on a 4 scale

when I did plug wires they were 2.3 new was 6 7 on a 4 scale
hotcobra03 is offline  
post #41 of 77 Old 08-22-2013, 10:15 AM
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 22,863
It's setting more then just a scale. You need to set it to the correct mode. The manual might help but you should have a selecotr switch to read voltage ac, voltage dc, current, and resistance. You need t set it up first then select the scale. The readings on the scale must be higher then the expected reading when you set the range. You tube has some video's and if you can look up the brand on line and find the manual I can help you set it correctly.
Que89YJ is offline  
post #42 of 77 Old 08-22-2013, 10:49 AM Thread Starter
hotcobra03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: poteet
Posts: 84
im going to try the setting u linked.my pc is down so on cell,its hard to read being tiny page..

I went and started engine,,let it warm..


I got,36.5 on 40scale on ait

I got 26.5 on coolant on 40 scale

I got 250. 5 on 400 scale on temp sensor

250 on oul pressure sender on 400 scale..with numbers changing to revs
hotcobra03 is offline  
post #43 of 77 Old 08-22-2013, 11:46 AM
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 22,863
You can measure resistance with voltage present/vehicle running. Volt meters use their internal battery to power the circuit you are testing when you measure resistance. Sening you a pm with my number. Call me.
Que89YJ is offline  
post #44 of 77 Old 08-24-2013, 03:54 AM Thread Starter
hotcobra03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: poteet
Posts: 84
Ok heres where im at..

Got new coolant sensor..I tested it vs old..

Old was good..

I retested iat sensor..this read different..I also found it changed as I moved it..

I took old coolant sensor and wired that to iat..

Wow things changed..isa motor freaked out clicking ..the plunger would jump but towards closed throttle..

Took for a ride..it now is driveable vs before..I will get ait sensor

It got up to 65 in 3rd..4th half throttle was best held 50 got 60 with 3quarter pedal..

Wot it bogged..5th bogged..

I know its timing advance and fuel..

The speed sensor I haven't touched yet..

Im also at 4000 ft above sea level..so thought that might another issue to a point
hotcobra03 is offline  
post #45 of 77 Old 08-24-2013, 06:07 AM
XJ93
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,540
Okay, IAT does mess with air/fuel ratio, why do you want to mess with speed sensor?
XJ93 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome