Total newbie, bought first jeep Feb 2013. 1990 YJ - Page 9 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Total newbie, bought first jeep Feb 2013. 1990 YJ

XJ Rail Sale!The Ruffstuff NOT Universal 4 Link Kit!Vanco Big Brake Kit Promotion!

Unread 02-24-2013, 09:00 PM   #121
vdubbles24
1990 YJ Wrangler 

I read that about the 10w30. Sounded kinda do but there was a lot of replies. So it's a ax-15. My YJ is pretty much stock besides suspension.

Got sound bar installed today. Top came off with ease. I just had to pull it back to roll bar to drill holes for sound bar. Lookin for a .40 cal grenade can to build a console. From what I have read on here the .40 cal can is ideal for this. With the l-w-h, I didn't realize how small the .50 cal cans are.

Had a issue with shifter boot earlier. Kept me from shifting into 2nd 4th and reverse. Pulled that b**** off and it shifted fine. Is the boot a 2 part piece? Like a inner and outer boot? I'll try to post a pic in a bit.

vdubbles24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-24-2013, 09:25 PM   #122
vdubbles24
1990 YJ Wrangler 

Just went out and snapped a quick pic. The thin boot setting off to the side, that is what I'm wondering about.
Unread 02-24-2013, 09:47 PM   #123
pete1991YJ
1991 YJ Wrangler 

Yeah there's an inner and an outer. Its common for them to be stiff in the winter. I prefer to leave them both in to cut down on the noise and places that could rust. I use both of them and just let it warm up a bit more when its below freezing. Then when I start out I go easy on it until the oil warms up. Once or 2x thru all the gears is usually enough, a mile or 2 basically.