Total newbie, bought first jeep Feb 2013. 1990 YJ - Page 8 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Total newbie, bought first jeep Feb 2013. 1990 YJ

Poison spyder items @ oconee off road 706 534 9955Jeep Wrangler Framless, Bowless, Trektops 92-95 YJ, 97-06 TJ 5.25" Speaker Adapters - NalinMFG

Unread 02-22-2013, 09:15 AM   #106
pete1991YJ
1991 YJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdubbles24 View Post
Thanks for top info.

Fuel gauge still not workin, gonna drop tank maybe this weekend and check ground. It's pegging full when on so I'm assuming bad ground.
There are some other ground locations to check also on the gauge. I know, I spent a day once finding out. Sometimes there is a cluster of grounds behind the e-brake pedal. If not there, then for sure there will be a bunch of grounds on teh dipstick bracket, behind the distributor on the passenger's side of the engine block.

The tank ground is actually a steel tab which is spot-welded onto the top of the sender unit FWIW. The pump grounds to that on the inside of the tank.

The gauges all have a single flexible circuit board behind them, which very often needs to have the contacts cleaned. One guy did a whole write-up about it: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/r...ter-how-991307

Hope that helps!

Unread 02-22-2013, 09:19 AM   #107
giggityjeeper
1990 YJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by pete1991YJ View Post
There are some other ground locations to check also on the gauge. I know, I spent a day once finding out. Sometimes there is a cluster of grounds behind the e-brake pedal. If not there, then for sure there will be a bunch of grounds on teh dipstick bracket, behind the distributor on the passenger's side of the engine block.