Total newbie, bought first jeep Feb 2013. 1990 YJ - Page 6 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Total newbie, bought first jeep Feb 2013. 1990 YJ

Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 02-13-2013, 08:18 AM   #76
pete1991YJ
1991 YJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdubbles24 View Post
What vehicle the 8.8 common in? Is it a swap you could complete on a Sunday?
Depends. If you have a welder, some cutting and grinding ability, all the parts lined up, and experience. Or could just buy one ready made from East Coast Gear Supply (ECGS) which was in those links I gave earlier.

Realistically, Most guys buy the Ford rear from a junkyard and spend time getting it ready, perhaps new bearings or gears, etc. before they try to put it in. New brakes and some kind of locker perhaps is a good idea. Having it all ready first is definitely easier. Then the actual swapping is only a (long) saturday or something. Its the prep work that takes time.

There *are* kits for this swap which make it a lot easier, which include spring and shock mounts, driveshaft adapters, etc. RuffStuff is one of the better-known ones.

Unread 02-13-2013, 11:44 AM   #77
vdubbles24
1990 YJ Wrangler 

So what tired if I got new ones would be appropriate? I don't want to look odd or outta place.

Thanks
Brandon
vdubbles24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-13-2013, 01:00 PM   #78
pete1991YJ
1991 YJ Wrangler