Total newbie, bought first jeep Feb 2013. 1990 YJ - Page 10 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Total newbie, bought first jeep Feb 2013. 1990 YJ

SPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!ROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail ANOTHER Rockridge4wd Creation!! Spare Tire Carrier Delete

Unread 03-09-2013, 06:16 PM   #136
vdubbles24
1990 YJ Wrangler 

A buddy of mine said pull valve cover and clean top end up. Any truth to that?

vdubbles24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-09-2013, 06:28 PM   #137
pete1991YJ
1991 YJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdubbles24 View Post
A buddy of mine said pull valve cover and clean top end up. Any truth to that?
Yes, quite a lot of truth. You will be amazed at how all the gunk clogs the baffles under there. They put baffles under each thing in the valve cover and they tend to get baked-on gunk. Sometimes up to a half-inch thick or more. Get some solvent, scrapers, brushes and rags, clean it and route the lines properly when you put it all back together. If the PCV valve doesn't rattle, it's shot - new one is only 2.99
Unread 03-10-2013, 05:57 PM   #138
vdubbles24
1990 YJ Wrangler 

Could the gunk and pcv have any affect on my oil pressure?
Unread 03-10-2013, 07:57 PM   #139
pete1991YJ
1991 YJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Could the gunk and pcv have any affect on my oil pressure?
Possible but not likely. The number-one thing that determines oil pressure is the condition of the bearings and the condition of the pump itself. Mine is over 50 PSI on the highway, and 30 PSI idling when hot. Which is *really* good for an original engine that is 22 yrs old!.
Unread 03-13-2013, 08:13 PM   #140
vdubbles24
1990 YJ Wrangler