Throttle position sensor fault - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-01-2013, 12:11 PM Thread Starter
KenF
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 49
Throttle position sensor fault

I replaced my TPS about 6 weeks ago, check engine was flashing a 24 code.
Seemed to solve the issue. Now it's back. Check engine light on, code is 24.
Checked the connectors. Engine stumbles on acceleration.
I was going to just replace the TPS again, is there anything else to look at.

Thanks
Ken

95 yj, 2.5

KenF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-01-2013, 12:20 PM
bigbossd1030
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,514
Well the code doesn't lie. I would guess you just got the crapy end of the stick and your TPS crapped the bed early. What brand did you buy? I bought the napa brand TPS when mine went over a year ago. Two years in may. And it hasn't caused a problem since.

Sent from my iPhone, probably because I am bored at work.

/l ,[____],
l----L-[]lllllll[]-
()_)-()_)--o)_)

OFFICIAL JEEPER
Any Jeepers in Edmonton, AB
I am on channel 33.

I live, I ride, I am JEEP.
bigbossd1030 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-01-2013, 03:33 PM Thread Starter
KenF
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 49
Got it from bumper to bumper, don't remember the brand. I'll try napa
KenF is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-01-2013, 05:03 PM
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 21,082
Tps fault will also throw a code with a bad map sensor. Check it with a meter and see if it is bad. If it is then you can warranty it. If it isn't then look at your map and the vacuum lines.
Que89YJ is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-02-2013, 12:32 PM
JWELK
Registered User
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ceiba
Posts: 910
Is this an "over voltage" issue? If yes, really clean all grounds, including verifying the splice(s) at any junctions. The TPS, and several others are just potentiometers, 5 volts on one end, ground on the other. The "signal" is somewhere between the two. The only to get "over voltage" is to have physically broken pot or missing ground. You might even find the original is still good if you still have it. Guess how I came to discover this wonderful peace of advice?

Regards

Jim
JWELK is offline  
Reply

Tags
check engine light , throttle position sensor

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome