Is there any engine that can bolt in on stock mounts on a yj? - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 08-01-2013, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
Jacoblytleyj
Registered User
1992 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ocean park
Posts: 21
Is there any engine that can bolt in on stock mounts on a yj?

I was wondering if there's any engine that will bolt into stock mounts on my yj and if not whats the eisiest swap?

Jacoblytleyj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 08-01-2013, 08:13 PM
SeanB95YJ
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Schenectady
Posts: 1,182
basically - no, without changing mounts you're stuck replacing with the same

as far as changing engines (I assume you'd want to go for more power) the easiest (but not the cheapest) would be to install a stroker, as it's basically a 4.0 with different internals. but there's no change (that I'm aware of) in motor mounts or wiring.

next easiest (and possibly cheaper than the stroker, depending on your source for engine) would be a carbed small block v8 (Chevy, Ford or Mopar).... for the most part, that's just a matter of changing the mounts, as there's really no wiring to worry about. This option though would make your YJ not "street legal" in most areas due to it wouldn't pass visual inspection for emissions requirements (that's up to you to find out for your specific area)

Sean B. - Schenectady, NY - 95 YJ, 350/700r4/NP241, JB Shorty SYE, 8.8 rear, 2" BDS, 1" homebrew shackles, Daystar 1" BL, TJ flares, 35x12.50 General Grabber AT2 on 15x10 Bart D-Truckers, Polyshield polycarbonate windshield, HD over/under crossover steering
swap/build thread: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/a...hread-1542284/
SeanB95YJ is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 08-01-2013, 08:40 PM Thread Starter
Jacoblytleyj
Registered User
1992 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ocean park
Posts: 21
I was thinking of building a stroker with the 4.0 I got in it already and just buying a 4.2 liter for the parts. And I can swap it where I live cuz there's no emissions. I'm already running catless. If i was gonna swap it I would do a ford 302
Jacoblytleyj is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome