Team Rush with 89 distibutor - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Team Rush with 89 distibutor

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineANOTHER Rockridge4wd Creation!! Spare Tire Carrier Delete ROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail

Unread 09-06-2011, 11:35 AM   #1
boardmaker
1989 YJ Wrangler 

Team Rush with 89 distibutor

I recently installed a Weber 32/36. My 1989 wrangler will now idle, but MPG is still pretty bad and the engine still sputters and pops. I am sure that it has the original distributor, cab, rotor, and coil that came on it. I have been reading everything I can find on HEI distributors and on the Team Rush upgrade.

I am not a mechanic, but I am trying to learn all I can and at least learn enough to get by as I work on getting this jeep into tip-top shape. So any help and direction is apprecieated.

I am leaning toward doing the Team Rush because it looks like the parts can be had cheaply and because I have read that HEI clones may come with a gear that can damage the cam. I don't know enough about the HEI clones to know which have hardened gears and which do not, so I figure it best to just stay away. If there is an HEI that is not TOO expensive and that has softer gears, I would like to hear about it.