Switching Carbs? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Switching Carbs?

Rampage Bowless Soft Top Oconee offroadAlloy USA Still AvailableAdvance Adapters SYE Kits

Unread 06-01-2013, 02:39 AM   #1
bkaab
1988 YJ Wrangler 

Switching Carbs?

Hello all. I'm new to Jeeps and just picked up a really solid 88 YJ this week.

Ive been working on tuning it up all week. The previous owner had lots of odd stuff going on with the wiring. Wires cut to the o2 and temp sensor I think. Along with other wires cut and put back together. I don't know what he was doing. But figured the best thing to do at this point is to get rid of all the computer controlled crap that I can and get it to where I can tune it all myself.

So I did the "nutter bypass" a few days ago. I got all the way to setting up the carb and the stepper motor seemed to be seized. And I'd rather just ditch it.

So on to my delema. The Jeep seems to run 10x better then it did when I 1st got it. But still has a slight mis.

Ive been looking at replacing the carb with a a non electric one. Ive found a few switch kits up on ebay for the Motorcraft 2100/2150 and a kit to switch to a Weber. But I have also found an old non electric Carter that has been rebuilt.

Is a Motorcraft/Weber all that much better then a non electric Carter? Are they really worth the 200$+ difference in price?

Thank you all for your responses.

bkaab is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-01-2013, 06:34 AM   #2
Joe100
1989 YJ Wrangler 

My 2 cents.