1Likes
  • 1 Post By Chrisnvegas

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 06-04-2016, 11:10 AM Thread Starter
YJ Newby
1990 YJ Wrangler 

Still stalls when hot. Out of ideas

'90 YJ, 4.2L, Nuttered, TFI Ignition Upgrade

I have been chasing a stalling issue for several months now, and am at my wits end. I can be driving at normal highway speeds, and it just stalls. Like it's run out of fuel. I can let it sit for a while and it starts back up and I am on my way. For a while. Then it stalls again, and again. It only does it when the engine gets warm. Or, now that the temps are over 100˚ here, as soon as I start driving. I've had to get a tow home from work three times in the last month.

Here is the list of everything that has been replaced in the last 12 weeks.

Fuel Pump
Coil
Cap/Rotor
Ignition Pickup Coil
Wires
Plugs
Ignition Control Module
Coolant Temperature Sensor

What else can it be? I feel like it's an electrical issue, but that is something that I am not familiar with. Any help or suggestions are appreciated.

Thank you!!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 06-04-2016, 12:26 PM
Chrisnvegas
Web Wheeler

1992 YJ Wrangler 

Where are you? (I wish people filled in their locations)

It acts like it's running out of fuel, but you think it's electrical. Why?

I recently went thru this.Hmmm. Keeps dying. Why? Has new ignition and fuel pump.
Dies out, hit it with starting fluid. Fires up instantly. OK, it's fuel.
Pulled fuel line to carb. Crank. No fuel.
Got another new fuel pump. VROOOOMMM!
Ok, the new made in China $20 fuel pumps are ****.

Bought a quality Carter fuel pump. Good to go.

Not saying your new pump is defective.
See how I figured it out?

Ban computer updates, auto-play video and music without real instruments.
post #3 of 15 Old 06-04-2016, 12:53 PM Thread Starter
YJ Newby
1990 YJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisnvegas View Post
Where are you? (I wish people filled in their locations)