Slow cheap build - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Slow cheap build

FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueSPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 05-14-2011, 07:04 PM   #1
mr3

Slow cheap build

I am new to the the forum, I've wanted a Wrangler since I was 15 and I got to ride in my friends Laredo back in high school. I'm 21 and I finally got one. I'm a college student and money is tight so it'll be a slow build. I come from tiny cars. I have had 5 Toyota mr2's.

In January I bought an 86 mr2 that was for a fix and resell. Bought it for 300, put a 300 engine in it and sold it for $1700. I owed my parents some money and payed them back with the money. I saved up a few pay checks and started looking for the most solid yj Wrangler. Searched craigslist and couldn't find anything local. Expanded my search and found one down by the Jersey shore. I'm from outside Philly so I decided to make the drive and check it out. When I got there I told my sister who made the trip that I was coming home with the jeep.

If only it was that easy. The seller lost the key after showing it to another guy an hour before I got there. He asked what I wanted to do, he offered to pay me for gas for making the trip. I asked him if he could get a locksmith out to make a key. He asked me to go out and grab some lunch so he could run to his house to see if he had a spare there. I go out and come back a half hour later. No luck no spare. He called AAA and they sent someone out. It cost him $108 for new keys and took an extra hour for that whole mess to go down.

Here it is as it sat.