Should I be worried? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Should I be worried?

Metalcloak: Celebrate Freedom with Free ShippingFS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 02-11-2015, 09:57 PM   #1
tcdill111
1992 YJ Wrangler 

Should I be worried?

Have a 92 4.0 i6 170k manual.

Has a tick noise when idling then goes away when I drive. Or I just can't hear it. I blew the motor in my mustang so I know it's not that bad cause they were two totally different noises.

I'm pretty sure it's a lifter. A lot of people say don't worry about it and it's just apart of owning a jeep...

I'm a college student so I don't have a very big budget. The jeep is new to me so I think I'm just going to get an oil change tomorrow that way I know the oil is fresh and I'm just going to drive it.

Any thoughts?

Unread 02-12-2015, 12:11 AM   #2
mike134
1989 YJ Wrangler 

Its always difficult to diagnose a ticking sound over the internet. It could be nothing, like the noisy lifter jeeps are known for. Could be piston slap, which jeep seem to be able to live through, or could be a bearing that's about to go.

does the tick stop after driving/warmed up, or while the engine rpm is higher than idle?

Has the jeep sat for a while unused before you bought it?

Did you use a fram oil filter?

what oil do you use?
mike134 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-12-2015, 12:14 AM   #3
Drednot
Web Wheeler

1991 YJ Wrangler 

Ive had good luck using shell rotella T diesel oil. It has a robust detergent additive that has the ability to eventually quiet ticking lifters by disolving the sludge plugging the oil orifices in the lifters