Shackles - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Shackles

Black Friday Sale - Deep Discounts from ExtremeTerrain.com6th Annual, Beat Your Wife to the Credit Card Sale!FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome Effect

Reply
Unread 06-23-2002, 05:28 PM   #1
jeepinarkansas
Registered User
1982 CJ8 
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 589
Shackles

Should there be any movement in the shackle when the jeep is in motion? Like when it hits a bump it should be allowed to flex, right? I think that I tightened up those bolts too tight with an impact wrench when installing my lift. Is that possible?
Thanks for the advice on this hard to explain problem.

__________________
1982 Jeep Scrambler
5.3 Vortec
SOA on 37s
jeepinarkansas is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-24-2002, 09:10 AM   #2
Dan's YJ
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lompoc Calif
Posts: 233
Ya, you can over tighten them. They do need to move a little. If you do, you'll prob. start eating your bushings. hth
__________________
1994 Bronco HD
Warn 8000
2"lift, 32x12.50
Locked
Dan's YJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-24-2002, 10:00 AM   #3
Jeep Man
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Swamps, In the Woods
Posts: 300
Check your owners manual. There is a torque spec.
__________________
I've felt the hate rise up in me, kneel down and clear the stone of leaves, I wander over where you can't see, inside my shell, I wait and bleed... Goodbye!
Jeep Man is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-26-2002, 04:30 AM   #4
Paulwpetrea
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 171
If they are aftermarket shackles, you should have loc-nuts on the shackle bolts. You should torque these down to around 30 foot pounds.

Believe me, you will have a MUCH better ride, if you have them loose enough to flex.
__________________
Paul

|[URL=http://www.livingincebu.com/]Living In Cebu[/URL]|[URL=http://www.cebutours.com/]CebuTours.com[/URL]|[URL=http://www.livingincebuforums.com/ipb]LinC Forums[/URL]|
Paulwpetrea is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.