Seeking Jeep general info - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Seeking Jeep general info

Rockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4wG2 Disc Brake Conversion Kit for Jeep Wrangler YJ TJ LJ Ch

Unread 08-01-2002, 10:30 AM   #1
mas.tiempo

Seeking Jeep general info

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to join this forum!!

I am new to Jeeps but not to 4x4. I have a Ford F-250 PSD with 4x4.

Just now beginning to do the homework regarding Jeeps and am clueless as to what the various models are. IE: TJ, CJ and YJ.

Here is a quick senario that may narrow down what I would like in a Jeep.

Retiring in Loreto, Baja later this year and I want to obtain a Jeep for use there. It would be towed by the big truck to Loreto.

I am hoping the Jeep will be able to pull and launch/retreive a boat in the 5000lb + range, 7000lb with trailer. The "pull" will be only for a few blocks from my place to the ramp. I am hoping that with the low range, this is doable? This way I won't have to fire up the big diesel truck for the launch use.
I would also like it to run around town and to explore the local beaches and mountains. A class IV hitch would need to be installed....??...with the short distance to be pulled, is that necessary?

My thinking is a 6 cyl, manual trans model.
A soft top/bikini top would be ideal.
No frills are required.

What model year did the fuel injection become available?
What year did Chrysler assume the Jeep from AMC?

Out west, (San Diego, CA) the AutoTrader indicates a late 80ties to early 90ties model is being offered for between $4000k and $6000K..with some variables of course.
This seems to be in my price area and what I had in mind.