Rust on Rear frame - 94 YJ - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Rust on Rear frame - 94 YJ

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitThe ALL NEW Factor 55 ProLink Winch Shackle Mounts availabFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 05-06-2007, 04:36 PM   #1
ShaneS
1991 YJ Wrangler 

Rust on Rear frame - 94 YJ

Alright everyone - got a newbie here - my wife has wanted and dreamed of an older Jeep for years and we have finally found the one - however I need some advice on repair and cost estimates for the following BEFORE i can purchase:

1994 YJ - 4.0 6 Cyl. - great shape
has rust (what i would say is medium to severe) on both rear peices of the frame where the bumper and the suspension all come together - about 6-9 in. from the bumper heading back to the front (before the major bend in the wheel axel area) and its width at least on one side is at least the width of the frame -

WHAT DO I DO? I have heard that this is a common occurence (Jeep is from Ohio...and I am in Kentucky) and that they can cut out what is rusted and weld in either old frame peices or manufactured peices for that problem - is this the case?

Any help would be great - is this a big deal and if so- what do you think it would cost to fix the job.

Thanks

ShaneS is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-06-2007, 04:42 PM   #2
toates89
1989 XJ Cherokee 

i would pass on it unless its free, rust is the one thing you dont want to fight as you repair that one spot your will come to relize that the entire inside of the frame is starting to rot, then you lift the rugs and realize the is no floors. etc
toates89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-06-2007, 04:46 PM   #3
ShaneS
1991 YJ Wrangler