Replaced rear Axel with a LOCKER - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Replaced rear Axel with a LOCKER

The Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!Ruffstuff 3 Link Kit!The Ruffstuff Optima Battery Box!

Unread 04-05-2011, 02:06 PM   #1
Enriquegg34
1995 YJ Wrangler 

Replaced rear Axel with a LOCKER

Hi, Im new to this...

I have a 1995 YJ Wrangler, and my kid has a 1989 Jeep Wrangler Sahara 4.0.

We replaced the rear axle on the Sahara for a locker, only because it was ready and available plus real cheap. The original was in real poor shape and slipped alot we rebuilt it but the gears do not match 100% so its weak - loose.

The locker is stiff as heck, is there an additional stabilizing arm that needs to be installed? this thing kicks tons as if it were totally loose.

if so, picture anyone? is it an after market thing? or just need to weld some additional support?

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Enriquegg34

Enriquegg34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-05-2011, 02:21 PM   #2
yellow2kgt
1990 YJ Wrangler 

It sounds like you just installed an auto locker in the rear in place of the spider gears. Is that correct? If so, there may be some handling issues as the locker engages/disengages when getting on and off of the gas. This is not uncommon for a rear auto locker in a lightweight Jeep.
Howell EFI, BDS 3.5" lift, M.O.R.E 5/8" Boomerang shackles, 1" Daystar BL, 1" JKS MML, TFI, Crager soft 8s w 35" Dunlop Mud Rovers, Ford 8.8, 4.88s, Dana 30 E-Locker, Terra Flex SYE, Tom Woods CV shaft, Warn M8000.
yellow2kgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-05-2011, 02:42 PM   #3
Enriquegg34
1995 YJ Wrangler 

Fix

So no real fix?

There has to be some sort of stabilizing arm or shock...

Anyone know?

Enrique