Really dumb timing question - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 10-29-2015, 01:19 PM Thread Starter
welderman85

Really dumb timing question

Whats the best/easiest to get my 258 0 degrees tdc . I have never done it before but I do have a timming light

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 10-29-2015, 03:11 PM
70ssclone
1994 YJ Wrangler 

Pop the valve cover off and stick a long screwdriver down the the #1 spark plug hole after also removing the plug rotate the motor by hand with a breaker bar in the rotation the motor spins . Watch as the screw driver comes all the way to the top of the stroke and you may have to turn it back a hair when it just starts to drop , verify that the valves are both closed ( remember it can be at tdc on the exhaust stroke . That's why you pop the valve cover off ). After that Verify with timing tab if it has one
post #3 of 4 Old 10-29-2015, 08:38 PM
superj

What are you doing?

I don't feel like working on anything at this time so i sold my yj.
post #4 of 4 Old 10-30-2015, 05:34 AM
Mike Romain
1986 CJ7 

Quote:
Originally Posted by welderman85 View Post
Whats the best/easiest to get my 258 0 degrees tdc . I have never done it before but I do have a timming light
Why? The timing is electronic, no wear parts so it never goes out of adjustment.
Setting the timing with a light is also picky to do if yours is stock with the ECU in control of the timing.
To find TDC "compression" you remove plug #1 and use the belt or a wrench to turn the engine clockwise with your finger over the plug hole. When you feel compression under your finger, stop and put a pencil or wood rod in the hole, then keep turning until the rod is all the way to the top. At this point the timing mark should be on 0.
Your engine has 2 TDC points on #1 cylinder. The exhaust stroke and the compression stroke. One has the rotor in the distributor pointing at #6 plug wire post in the cap, the other has the rotor pointing to #1 plug wire post.

Mike