Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Project Junk Yard

4K views 30 replies 14 participants last post by  red87yj 
#1 ·
Alright guys, I have been thinking about doing this for a while, but now that I am doing a major overhaul, I think its about time. I needed to build my jeep with the lowest cost parts possible since I am a college student. (No new parts here!)

I started with a 1987 Jeep Wrangler that I picked up for cheap. It had a 4.2 with a knock, a pugot (sic) trans that was loud as hell in 5th. Obviously I had a lot of chips to bargain with. So needless to say I got the vehicle for very little. What I knew I was getting however, was a California vehicle. Amazing for this part of the country. I wheeled it stock a couple of time with a bad motor.

Then I started to tear off all of the chrome, lift the jeep with a 3.5 inch BDS lift and threw a set of 31 LTBs that I had on my old 88 Blazer. I wheeled it like this for a little while, but the motor still sounded like some one was beating on it with a hammer.

The next step was to start the search for a new engine. I liked the idea of a FI motor and the fact that a 4.0 dropped in place of a 4.2 made this a no brainer. Thanks to JF I found someone who was local who had totaled their jeep with a motor that was perfect for my situation. It even came with an AX 15. The jeep that it came from was a 95 so it was the better version of the AX 15 with an external slave cylinder. This was one of the more difficult things that I have done on this jeep. I HATE ELECTORAL WORK!!