Pressure Temp Switch - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Pressure Temp Switch

WJ Shackle Tabs: Tow-Hook Replacements2014 Spartan Locker Special - While Supplies Last! Dana 3FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Reply
Unread 05-29-2001, 06:17 PM   #1
Joe R
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Wheat Ridge, CO
Posts: 2
Pressure Temp Switch

I have an 87 YJ, and I'm trying to debug my temp gauge. For the most part it's pegged to the right all the time. I can't tell if it's the Sending unit, gauge or a short in the system, anyone run into this problem before & if so, can anyone suggest how to get an accurate reading ?

Thanks!
-Jr

Joe R is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-05-2001, 10:16 PM   #2
wilhelm
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: fanwood,nj
Posts: 32
joe r , i had the same problem with my 87YJ when i first bought it . it turn out to be the wire was off of the sending unit . the sending unit is on the cyl. head near the back , above the last exhaust manifold port . a purple wire is supposed to connect to it . if the wire is connected , see if it is grounded somewhere . if not maybe there is a something grounding the gauge cluster from behind the dash . good luck
wilhelm nj
wilhelm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-05-2001, 11:07 PM   #3
Joe R
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Wheat Ridge, CO
Posts: 2
Thanks for the suggestions Willhelm.
I did recently purchase a new sending unit.
I have yet to install it due to Finals @ school this week.

The connector to it seems to be fine, I still have yet to rule out a short behind the dash.

I found out some more info on the web: http://home.sprynet.com/~dale02/choke.htm
that my (possibly bad) sending unit could be messing with my idle via a relay. This link was an intersting find. (and could potentially explain some of my idle problems)

At the same website listed above http://home.sprynet.com/~dale02/diagnost.htm
I also found some more interesting information on the diagnostic connectors that will help me to determine what is messing with my choke motor & causing a bad idle. If I manually close my choke plate, I have a perfect idle. (just plain quirky)

Feel free to email me @ jrwired00@home.com

Thanks again for your response!

-Jr
Joe R is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.