Preferance of repair manual for 88 YJ - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Preferance of repair manual for 88 YJ

Currie Antirock, Currectlync & Lift Kits on Sale!Oconee Off-Road Free Shipping Lifts Tires Bumpers Tops andIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 01-14-2014, 06:15 PM   #1
Sirptrk

Preferance of repair manual for 88 YJ

I have an 88 YJ with the straight 6 cylinder. I am needing to replace the water pump and all of the valve cover gasket and anything else that would cause oil leaks. What is everyones preferance as far as manuals to help me do this. I am not particularly a car repair guy but am mechanically inclined as I am a skilled machinist. Would like to hear your opinion on manuals to purchase.

Sirptrk is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-14-2014, 06:34 PM   #2
kloppk
1992 YJ Wrangler 

For doing maintenance and basic repairs like you are tackling then a Haynes or Chiltons is OK. Usually about $15-$20 a copy.
If you get into more involved work then a Factory Service Manual (FSM) may be called for.
kloppk is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-14-2014, 06:40 PM   #3
Jeepsr4me

there are free online FSMs for all our jeeps. If they were not so large people could email them back and forth..
But for what you doing, you can use Autozones free online repair guides..
Jeepsr4me is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-14-2014, 06:41 PM   #4
Sirptrk

Which do you prefer Chilton or Haynes
Unread 01-14-2014, 06:42 PM   #5
jay-h
1989 YJ Wrangler