over heatiing other thread did not help - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > over heatiing other thread did not help

Eliminate Hood Flutter!!!Thursday Savings BlastIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 05-03-2011, 07:10 PM   #1
fino

over heatiing other thread did not help

I know there is a thread but it did not help. I have been working on cars for 30 years so I have some idea of what I am doing but this one has got me stumped. The jeep in question is a 91 4 cyl. all stock. After about 10 minutes of driving it red lines. I have replaced the water pump it was just over a year old but changed it anyway (was under warenty). I took both hoses off at the radiator and hooked a water hose to the top hose and ran water though until it was clear water runing through. Then I hooked the water to the bottom and ran water through to make sure there was unobstructed flow. I remove the therostat, the frist thing i did thinking it was not opening, put it in a pan of the stove it is opening all the way. when i take the top hose off and fill the radiator and engine with water and turn the the jeep on the water comes out of the top hose in a surge flow not a constant. Thought maybe then the radiator was bad. so i filled a bucket with water took the bottom hose off put in the bucket still surge flow with by passing the radiator. bottom line it is still getting hot. any idias

fino is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-03-2011, 07:48 PM   #2
moonshinefuel
1995 YJ Wrangler