Nutter bypass with weber 32/36 carb help - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 02-12-2009, 05:44 PM Thread Starter
pge27
1990 YJ Wrangler 

Nutter bypass with weber 32/36 carb help

I just recently bought a 90YJ. I'm completely new to the jeep world so I'm needing some help. The Jeep has a 32/36 weber on it and everything else is completely stock all the way back to what looks like the original exhaust. Jeep has 206k on the clock so a lot has got to go. Here is what I've done so far.
Replaced: cap & rotor, plugs, wires, thermostat, heater core, blower (from blazer), valve cover gasket, and the catalytic convertor. I've also done the "nutter bypass" on her. But, as of now, I'm lost as to what vaccuum lines I need to keep and what I can toss. I do have to run emissions testing, but it's just the sniffer....no visual. It did, just barely, fail emissions testing on my first attempt. But that was on the way home from picking it up. It was running rough and rich. My questions are.....
What vaccuum lines can I lose and where do they actually hook up? (most were dryrotted and or missing)
Can I lose the lines that go from the aircleaner to the convertor? (forgot what its called)

Probably gonna rebuild the weber. Any advice on different jets and where the best place is to buy a rebuild kit?
All help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 02-12-2009, 06:05 PM
dodger889
1989 YJ Wrangler 

The only vacum lines that are needed are the ones for the advance ( a ported off carb)and to the vacume for the diconnect one the front axle.

yes you loss the air preheator just cap it off (egr)

A 89 yj with a 4.0 aw4 sye out of an 92xj. Now the hard part is done time to get it up in the air just a bit. Working on 8.8 with 3.73 and lsd for the rear. and new D30 hp with 3.73 .
For those who have not figured this out I'm old school but can handle the new too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsquat View Post