Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

NP231 Inspection Items, what to look for?

5K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  RT91 
#1 ·
I have my NP231j from my 94 yj, 4.0, manual trans, apart to find the source of a noise that is killing me. There is nothing that is obviously wrong with it to me upon initial inspection. Stress "TO ME" in that statement. I am not a professional driveline mechanic and since the noise is real and I haven't found anything wrong... You get the point. I just posted a different thread about the noise/diagnosis issue and that is NOT the point of this thread. The point of this one is to hopefully help others answer the questions I have been trying to answer for the last week or two. (I really have tried and tried to find the answers before posting a question. To the point of obsession. Ask my wife! lol) Anyway...

Here are a few questions I have not been able to find the answers to:

1., When inspecting Range and Mode fork pads, what should they look like? What do they look like new? How thick are the pads when they are new vs. when they are functionally worn out?

2., Should there be ANY play between either fork and the rod they are on? My range fork is the cast aluminum type with three pad points. Both my forks have a little bit of play between them as if they were bored out a few thousandths too big.(Both mine look fine, but I don't necessarily know WTH I am looking for.)

3., Should there be any "play" in the planetary gear assembly? I am doing this with the case in the jeep so the planetary gear / input shaft is still in the case. If I grab it with my hand, I can wobble it around a little. Rotation feels smooth. Very slight in-out play. Is this normal?