no start no ecm - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > no start no ecm

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 06-27-2011, 05:43 PM   #1
jermyjudge
1993 YJ Wrangler 

no start no ecm

Ok just to start I am new to jeep but have been working on cars all of my life. I just bought a 93 wrangler 4.0 5 speed that the last owner had decided that fuel pump had failed on. He removed the fuel pump and tank installed the new fuel pump in the tank and never reinstalled the tank. I reinstalled the tank added 5 gallons of fresh fuel and cranked it over. cranks but doesn't even try to start. still has no fuel pressure has no spark and i can't check the codes the check engine light never comes on. What wire signals the engine control module to turn on. Are there any real common issues that I should look for causing my concern.
thanks
Jeremy

jermyjudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-27-2011, 06:03 PM   #2
notmyj
1992 YJ Wrangler 

So a search for brain surgery. From what you described it sounds like the capacitors in the ecm are bad.
My BUDGET York OBA Install
Budget Welding Cart
Carling Contura Switch Panel

If it has tracks, tires or tits, its gonna cause a problem.

"Everytime someone "upgrades" a D35, an angel looses its wings."

"Dizzy" - What SnoopDog would call a Distributor if he was a mechanic. I cringe every time I hear this moronic term

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warren Zevon
Send lawyers, guns and money. The **** has hit the fan...
92, 4.0, AW4, 8.8, D30, 15x10, 37's, SOA etc, etc
92, 2.5, 30, 8.8, 4.88, Locked, Winch, 15x8, 35's, 3.5" (RIP)
notmyj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-27-2011, 08:21 PM   #3
jermyjudge