No Start After Bad Jump Start Attempt - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > No Start After Bad Jump Start Attempt

XJ Rail Sale!The Ruffstuff NOT Universal 4 Link Kit!Vanco Big Brake Kit Promotion!

Unread 08-27-2013, 02:33 AM   #16
vrsoft
1993 YJ Wrangler 

Picked up my parts today:

1 x A1 Cardone Remanufactured Distributor $93
1 x Cap $30
1 x Rotor $8

I thought the distributor assembly would come with the cap and rotor. I was wrong

I studied the FSM on the distributor removal/installation procedure the night before so I was prepared to do the work this evening. The procedure is surprisingly simple. I manually rotated the engine to 0 degrees and ensured the rotor ended up in the 5 o'clock position. Made my markings etc. Was starting to get excited at the thought that my YJ just might fire up tonight... and then came the distributor hold down bolt.

NEXT STEP(S)

Long story short, I'll be picking up a distributor wrench tomorrow so I can get the bolt off (and a new distributor gasket as I can't for the life of me find where the one in the box went - it must have fallen out as I was leaving the parts store earlier in the afternoon).

The saga continues

Last edited by vrsoft; 08-27-2013 at 09:26 AM..
vrsoft is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-27-2013, 02:44 AM   #17
vrsoft
1993 YJ Wrangler 

By the way, my existing distributor is pretty brown and dusty on the inside. I was quite surprised actually when I pulled the cap off. I'll try to grab some comparison pics (old vs. new) to share with everyone once I get the swap-out done.
Unread 08-27-2013, 09:21 AM   #18
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 

Make sure you mark the distributor position.