JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   YJ Wrangler Technical Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/)
-   -   No fire, No start? (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/no-fire-no-start-1765738/)

Goat7 11-06-2013 06:58 PM

No fire, No start?

this is my first post and I want to say thanks to you guys for all the great info on this site. I have been racing dirt modifieds for 10 years and have recently sold out of racing to spend more time at home. I have never owned a jeep before but thought this would be a good way to spend time with my son and still have fun. Well have ended up with not 1 but two 2 yj's haha and so the fun begins. One is a 88 with the chevy small block and a 700r4 and the other is a 95 with the 4cyl. The problem I am having is with the 95 with the 4cyl, when I got it I had to put some wiring back together and I got it running but it was hard starting and ran rough but it ran. I now have pulled it in the shop for paint and body work and to get it running the right way. Now I have no spark at all. To help I will list the checks I have already done to track it down with not success. Please keep in mind I have been building racecars and my own race engines for years and I would say my mechanical ability is an 8 out of ten but with something new comes a new learning curve hahaha.
Performed pin test for ecu and have power and grounds where they should be (great write up from sentinel by the way).
checked all fuses and relays they are all good.
looked at about a million pages of schematics and understand how system works.
Checked resistance in coil primary and secondary voltage, they are within tolerance( secondary was at the max resistance though)
Checked input for cam positioning sensor 7 volts, 5volts, 0.