no clutch- 87 Jeep Wrangler YJ -

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 10-29-2013, 05:11 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: charlotte, nc
Posts: 21
no clutch- 87 Jeep Wrangler YJ

I have a 5 speed 87 Jeep Wrangler YJ (6 cylinder) and I completely lost the clutch today. The pedal goes all the way down and I am not able to shift gears. I believe it is the clutch slave cylinder. This is an 87 that had the peugot transmission. Would anyone be able to point me in the right direction as to where I might find instructions as to how to replace the slave cylinder?

gerrymurphy is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 6 Old 10-29-2013, 05:49 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: corpus christi
Posts: 7,057
Google since I do not know and it could be external or internal slave. I am not versed in what the standard jeeps came with by year

I don't feel like working on anything at this time so i sold my yj.
superj is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 10-29-2013, 06:35 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,831
I have a link to the FSMs if you want to know how to fix it. Its internal and a major pain in behind to get at all the parts you got to replace....
Jeepsr4me is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 10-29-2013, 06:54 PM
Registered User
1986 CJ7 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: worcester
Posts: 2,264
replace the tranny as well! you will thank me.

Rubicon Rich ,05 TJ Rubicon:
86 CJ7 258,T18,Scout Dana300,twin sticks,Dana44's,4W Disc, locked,35's,YORK OBA,Warn 8274,fullcage.
51 M100 1/4 ton Jeep trailer
BlueRubiconrich is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-30-2013, 04:49 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: charlotte, nc
Posts: 21
Jeepsr4me--I would love the link to the FSM if you could provide it. Thanks much.
gerrymurphy is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-30-2013, 04:24 PM
Registered User
1987 YJ Wrangler 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: boise
Posts: 56
I've had some issues with my clutch as well recently on my 87. One thing I keep seeing repeated over and over is make sure you know what needs replaced. From what I gather if your slave cylinder is bad you're going to see brake fluid around the bell housing. If it is the master you're going to see fluid around it on the firewall. Your clutch is internal with that transmission and the tranny needs pulled back. If you're not seeing fluid on the bell housing I'd consider bleeding (and flushing) the fluid first perhaps locating a leak elsewhere in the process. if that doesn't work, then the slave may be gone. here's the a autozone instructional for your transmission.

And here is the slave cylinder instructional

I am not very experienced so if anyone else has input you should pay attention to that. I've been researching it for the last few days and that's what I've found so far. And it makes sense to buy a premium slave so you don't have to do it again, but when mine does go I'll either replace the whole clutch while I'm down there or just replace the tranny to a better one. We'll see.
beakerbload is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome